Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2010, 03:07 PM
Strebor24 Strebor24 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 54
Default I pass by the Daly City office quite often....

Hi,

I pass by the offices on Junipero Serra Blvd. quite often, can I bring my system in and get it optimized and working good? come on guys, that would be take customer service to a whole new level!

__________________
Shuttle PC, XP Home SP 3, Core 2 duo 3.16 GHz, 4gb PC6400, 500gb SATA 3G HD, Mbox2 pro., Pro Tools 8.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2010, 03:18 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: I pass by the Daly City office quite often....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strebor24 View Post
Hi,

I pass by the offices on Junipero Serra Blvd. quite often, can I bring my system in and get it optimized and working good? come on guys, that would be take customer service to a whole new level!

Yeah... just like how I can take my Mac right to Apple HQ to get it "optimized." Or my PC to Microsoft to get it... softed.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2010, 03:53 PM
Strebor24 Strebor24 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 54
Default Re: I pass by the Daly City office quite often....

well at least Mac has the Mac stores with their experts!

I think AVID could consider setting up customer service centers (perhaps in a store that sells their gear). After all, if PT9 takes off like they hope they have opened themselves up to a whole new customer base who are going to be using all kinds of interfaces and gear and with ProTools long history of having major issues unless things are 'not quite perfect' they might end up really shooting themselves in the foot!

Lots of other DAW software has proven to be extremely robust over the years with in all kids of environments.
__________________
Shuttle PC, XP Home SP 3, Core 2 duo 3.16 GHz, 4gb PC6400, 500gb SATA 3G HD, Mbox2 pro., Pro Tools 8.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2010, 04:56 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,544
Default Re: I pass by the Daly City office quite often....

There are plenty of knowledgeable retailers out there(sadly, there are several without a clue as well). Buying from one of those places(like sweetwater or GC Pro) might be a smart move for those that are not enthused about digging into the inner workings of computers
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-2010, 05:49 PM
Strebor24 Strebor24 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 54
Default Re: I pass by the Daly City office quite often....

Yeah, that is true, but ironically wasn't Pro Tools first designed to run on Macs? isn't that a platform with an OS that is basically closed off to it's user!

....and therefore users really didn't need to understand the inner workings of computers just the software and how to hook stuff up.

....with the advances in computing in the 21st century we shouldn't have to know how to write code (which is mostly written by software programs anyway) and build computers to use a DAW interface. Other software manufacturers hae actually shown that programs can be written that are robust enough to survive all kinds of torture (and user abuse) and be run with all kinds of gear and still work!

I doubt that PT9 will survive in the open architecture word as Reaper, Sonar, Cubase, Live etc. have been able to for so many years.
__________________
Shuttle PC, XP Home SP 3, Core 2 duo 3.16 GHz, 4gb PC6400, 500gb SATA 3G HD, Mbox2 pro., Pro Tools 8.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-13-2010, 06:14 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: I pass by the Daly City office quite often....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strebor24 View Post
Yeah, that is true, but ironically wasn't Pro Tools first designed to run on Macs? isn't that a platform with an OS that is basically closed off to it's user!

....and therefore users really didn't need to understand the inner workings of computers just the software and how to hook stuff up.

....with the advances in computing in the 21st century we shouldn't have to know how to write code (which is mostly written by software programs anyway) and build computers to use a DAW interface. Other software manufacturers hae actually shown that programs can be written that are robust enough to survive all kinds of torture (and user abuse) and be run with all kinds of gear and still work!

I doubt that PT9 will survive in the open architecture word as Reaper, Sonar, Cubase, Live etc. have been able to for so many years.
OSX isn't closed off to users. At least, it isn't any more closed than Windows.

I disagree that one shouldn't have to know about computers to run a DAW. One should know about computers to run a computer. Especially sound engineers. It seems these days that everyone wants to take the "engineer" out of sound engineering. One click, one software, one computer, everything out of the box with every feature we could ever want with no bugs or issues.

It's never going to happen, and I would never want it to happen. Sound engineering should be challenging. There isn't any other type of engineer in the world who has it this easy, and yet we want it to be easier.

Let's go back to cutting tape and manually moving faders!
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-2010, 06:47 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,599
Default Re: I pass by the Daly City office quite often....

Quote:
Yeah, that is true, but ironically wasn't Pro Tools first designed to run on Macs? isn't that a platform with an OS that is basically closed off to it's user!

....and therefore users really didn't need to understand the inner workings of computers just the software and how to hook stuff up.
I spent years in Mac OS 9 tweaking Extensions Manager and Conflict Catcher to get lots of Mac apps to run. I doubt that I'm alone in this.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-2010, 06:59 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,978
Default Re: I pass by the Daly City office quite often....

We now work in software/computer land. We all need a basic understanding of computers and the software running on them, the possible issues and any avenues available for fixing them. It's like in the tape days when even those of us who weren't engineers still had to know how and when to clean the heads and the capstan and how to fix carts when the graphite or pads disappeared or the retaining bar went missing in action.

Yeah, I'm old, make something of it.







Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-13-2010, 11:24 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,544
Default Re: I pass by the Daly City office quite often....

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
We now work in software/computer land. We all need a basic understanding of computers and the software running on them, the possible issues and any avenues available for fixing them. It's like in the tape days when even those of us who weren't engineers still had to know how and when to clean the heads and the capstan and how to fix carts when the graphite or pads disappeared or the retaining bar went missing in action.

Yeah, I'm old, make something of it.







Cheers,
I would, but I'm too damn OLD and TIRED. Face it kids, some of us are older and sneakier
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-14-2010, 09:26 AM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: I pass by the Daly City office quite often....

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
. It's like in the tape days when even those of us who weren't engineers still had to know how and when to clean the heads and the capstan and how to fix carts when the graphite or pads disappeared or the retaining bar went missing in action.

Cheers,
Or a degauser, or how about the "Tentelometer" I had for my Ampex MM1200 to adjust tape tension? Oh my, do I NOT miss that.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High pass and low pass filter for distorted guitars? adamqlw Eleven Rack 13 09-30-2011 11:35 AM
New DALY SITUATIONS feat. P.E.A.C.E. on the CPC edit General Discussion 0 11-10-2004 04:02 PM
DIGI DESIGN PRO TOOLS 20TH ANIVERSARY!!! DALY CITY Johnny916 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-17-2004 11:06 PM
Anyone been to DigiWorld in Daly City? Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-17-2004 02:47 AM
Live Near Digi HQ in Daly City. Drop Off Mix Core? Cauldronics Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-29-2004 10:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com