Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2009, 11:57 PM
krop015 krop015 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 38
Default Plugins taking forever to load

This is my second attempt in hopes anyone knows a solution..

I am on PT8 HD and when i initialize a plugin (such as waves SSLchannel) it will give me the beach ball of death for about 20-35 seconds then the plugin will load. I am having this problem with about 10 or 15 of my most used plugins. It makes it extremely difficult to run fast easy sessions. I have done everything i could think of (trashing prefs, re-installing PT/Plugins) and i have no luck.

The one hint i have is that when i choose the plugin on an insert while the beach ball is spinning the system drive starts spinning very fast (like it is looking for something)

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2009, 01:47 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,681
Default Re: Plugins taking forever to load

Quote:
Originally Posted by krop015 View Post
This is my second attempt in hopes anyone knows a solution..

I am on PT8 HD and when i initialize a plugin (such as waves SSLchannel) it will give me the beach ball of death for about 20-35 seconds then the plugin will load. I am having this problem with about 10 or 15 of my most used plugins. It makes it extremely difficult to run fast easy sessions. I have done everything i could think of (trashing prefs, re-installing PT/Plugins) and i have no luck.

The one hint i have is that when i choose the plugin on an insert while the beach ball is spinning the system drive starts spinning very fast (like it is looking for something)

Thanks in advance.
Hi,

The only thing i have ever known to slow dow the loading of a plugin is a slow hard drive or a hard drive that is close to full.

Do you have any USB drives connected? this slows down the loading of plugs? as will USB sticks and some MP3 players

Is your system drive getting full? ideally you need 30-40 gig free and you need to keep it in good shape. repair permissions or rebuild the drive using disk warrior.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2009, 05:43 AM
TAFF TAFF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wales,UK
Posts: 161
Default Re: Plugins taking forever to load

I'm having the same problem and I think it';s a PPC thing? We've got 3 systems running PT8 ranging from a Dual 2ghz to a Quad 2.5 and they are all slow. Even with a new install on a brand new SATA drive the plugins are slow to boot up. I've got 160gig free on my new system drive with 4gigs of RAM. Still sluggish

Paul McFadden
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2009, 06:23 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 778
Default Re: Plugins taking forever to load

You may also delete the Waves cache folder. Had terrible problems with waves plugins after I updated the OS. Once I deleted the cache file folder for Waves everything ran smooth again.
Nick
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.15.7, PT Ultimate 2022.10 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Mac M1 Studio Ultra 64GB RAM OSX 12.6.1, PT Ultimate 2022.10 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2010, 11:32 PM
BigEvil BigEvil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 207
Default Re: Plugins taking forever to load

Deleting Waves Cache folder worked for me. Could be coincidental but many of my plugins load much faster and smoother now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2010, 02:04 AM
GS-DK GS-DK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 525
Default Re: Plugins taking forever to load

Could you please tell me where I can find the Waves cache folder. Is it the Waves folder in the "Library" - "Cache" - "Waves" - "Applications" - "Waves" - "Waves Plug-Ins"? I have different bundles there.....Ane risk of getting into trouble if I erase them?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-09-2010, 04:40 AM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 970
Default Re: Plugins taking forever to load

Hi,

I found this thread:

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=259286

There it says:

delete the Waves Caches folder located at: System Hard-Drive> Users> Current User> Library>Caches>Waves
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 ; 6-Core Intel Xeon 3,46 GHz, 32 Gig Ram, NVIDIA Quadro K5000 with 3 displays connected  OSX10.15.7  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2022.9  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:18 AM
psycho_monkey psycho_monkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 110
Default Re: Plugins taking forever to load

Is it only waves?

Randomly, I had a similar issue recently where certain waves plugs (including the SSL channel) refused to load. Others were fine, as was every other plugin on my iLok. Spinning ball then PT stopped responding.

I traced it down to my audio drive having issues. I have no idea why that should be the case, but if you can't fix it by clearing cache etc, try removing every drive except your system drive, then trying again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 Taking Forever To Open Tulane Sound Windows 10 10-31-2011 10:55 PM
Structure Free is taking forever to browse & load up samples QPro5-AM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-02-2010 07:32 AM
Loading PT8 taking forever.... mholley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-06-2009 12:45 PM
Plugins taking forever to load krop015 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-04-2009 04:13 PM
6.9 taking *forever* to load session sonicblue57 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-31-2006 01:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com