Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Old 01-25-2005, 11:56 AM

Default weird master fader issues...

just recently i noticed on a project i was working on, certain channels were bypassing the master faders' plugins i had in place. this is way weird on a TDM system, when i've never seen this at home on my LE system. example: all channels are set to analog 1-2 out, i have an L1 limiter on the master fader. as i pull down the out ceiling level on the L1, certain channels with transients remained at the same peak level in the master fader meters, yet i could audibly hear the voice over and other effects levels coming down with the L1 adjustment and also see them respond lighter on the master fader meter around the transient hits. if i created a stereo aux track, set all of the track outputs to bus 1-2, feed them the the aux tracks inputs and then out analog 1-2, the L1 limiter placed on the stereo aux track respond as it should - nothing was getting past the limiter including the transient hits. it really is like some tracks are feeding the L1 in the master fader channel, and some are going right past it.

it almost seems to me lime some sort of weird sfotware glitch, unless i am completely missing something or changed some bizzarre preference i didn't know about. any ideas?

PT 5.3.3 on a PC, HD system, Pro Control and Edit Pack

Pro Tools Ultimate, Mac Mini 3.2 i7, Mtrx Studio & Omni, 4x S1’s & Dock w/ iPad Air 2
Old 01-27-2005, 12:13 PM

Default Re: weird master fader issues...

There's an issue with plugins (RTAS?) working only on Aux tracks or something like that. I don't remember how it goes, but here's one answerbase link that might be an answer:
http://answerbase.digidesign.com/detail.cfm?DID=4572