Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2011, 09:12 PM
Dantesjuice Dantesjuice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 77
Default $900 for a unit that worked for a week?

Man at this rate i'll be broke in a few months!!!

Got my 11R a few days ago and it worked great for a day or two...then no sound?

No sound on startup, no sound in stand-alone mode and no sound out of pro tools? Iv checked all my connections, my monitors work fine, my cables are good, the 11R settings are correct. Iv tested this unit at our studio and at home..whats the deal?

It came shipped with the latest firm ware, i even backed up all my presets and did a memory reset...no go.

And here's the kicker!!!

This unit was set up at our studio (www.titanrecording.com) and we were trying to demo it for some students, interns and clients (we do workshops in the evenings) when it decided not to first start working lol. Not sure if they'll be running out to get an 11R now lol *shakes head

Anyway if anyone has any ideas id really appreciate it!

Im really bummed, i was just starting to dig in and have fun with this thing.

Thanks
__________________
5 out of 4 people have a problem with fractions...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2011, 09:16 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,809
Default Re: $900 for a unit that worked for a week?

sounds like you got a bad unit, this has been a problem with a certain batch of 11R's. Contact Avid and they will replace it for you ASAP.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=273395
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2011, 11:25 PM
Dantesjuice Dantesjuice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 77
Default Re: $900 for a unit that worked for a week?

Thanks for the thread Benoni, strange i searched for "no sound on startup" and couldnt find anything. I'll call support tomorrow...eh, i'll prolly have to wait till monday though, im assuming they have normal mon - fri business hours.

Anyway yeah, i hope that they can just send me a new one, even though its only a week old and im sure i can return it to GC, Iv already used my PT disk and registered, and I REALLY would hate to exchange it for another bad unit lol Unless they know the bad batch numbers and i can make sure the GC near me doesnt have any more of them.

Im just really disappointed, iv been stoked about the 11R for months and months and claiming to everyone how amazing it is....then i get a bad one lol

Thanks again
__________________
5 out of 4 people have a problem with fractions...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2011, 11:42 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,809
Default Re: $900 for a unit that worked for a week?

you "may" have trouble returning it to the store where you bought it since you say you have used/open the softwear. I would return it directly to Avid and get a new one that has the new improved part in it. Hopefully they will give you a prepaid shipping label and 2-3 day your new unit, but i have no idea what their policy is.

Its gotta be a huge bummer for sure to get a bad unit, but fear not, Avid WILL fix this for you and you wil be jamming again in no time.

Once your new unit arrives, check out the Eleven Rack Expansion Pack which adds a bunch of new amp and effects, its a great deal.

http://www.avid.com/US/products/Elev...Expansion-Pack
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2011, 03:30 AM
Death2AllButMetal Death2AllButMetal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 19
Default Re: $900 for a unit that worked for a week?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
sounds like you got a bad unit, this has been a problem with a certain batch of 11R's. Contact Avid and they will replace it for you ASAP.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=273395
I was wondering... Does Avid provide this replacement service to US customers only? Or is it worldwide?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2011, 04:10 AM
adamqlw adamqlw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 493
Default Re: $900 for a unit that worked for a week?

I think the distributor handles it but it's covered under the warranty. I had some other problems with mine and my local distributor fixed it up good with zero hassel.

Death to all butt metal
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2011, 06:31 AM
TLTD TLTD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vermontville, MI
Posts: 20
Default Re: $900 for a unit that worked for a week?

I had a few problems where I would shut off the Eleven Rack while it was being used as a sound card. I'd turn it on the next day/no sound. It is because the computer has to be shut down to release the driver. I think you can also disconnect the USB cable if you have the need to shut it off while it's being used as a sound card. Once I figured it out, I had no problems. Yesterday, I used a laptop and shut the lid and it went into hibernation and did the same thing. Once you are in the situation where it is mute, you have to open Pro Tools or Cakewalk to initialize and get it working again. If you aren't by a computer, sometimes you can just change the output volume (anything up or down) and it comes back on it's own.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-2011, 01:09 PM
Dantesjuice Dantesjuice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 77
Default Re: $900 for a unit that worked for a week?

Well when i contacted Avid they said i would have to ship the unit back to them, then they would "fix" the unit, not replace it, and send it back, basically do an RMA. Unfortunatly this would take weeks and im knee deep in projects. My 11R was only a week old so i just took it back to GC and they swapped it out no questions asked =)

Also, fyi, the original unit was Rev E...the support tech over at Avid did some research for me and found that Rev H would be free of the "crystal" malfunction. I guess the defect "crystal" was what caused the clocking problem for the unit not to have sound at 44.1 and 88. That was my original issue, no sound in standalone mode and no sound through pro tools. I found a few work arounds like switching the clock to different settings and so forth, but for a $900 unit that was only a week old, i wasnt about to spend the rest of my days having to do workarounds to get my 11R to work lol.

So when i went to GC i made sure not to get a Rev E, i got an older version, Rev D, but it still came with the most current firm ware version and so far no issues =)
__________________
5 out of 4 people have a problem with fractions...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2011, 01:57 PM
derker derker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 622
Default Re: $900 for a unit that worked for a week?

How do you find out the revision letter on 11r?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2011, 02:09 PM
Dantesjuice Dantesjuice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 77
Default Re: $900 for a unit that worked for a week?

It was actually on the box...Rev E (on a sticker with the serial #) This was on the original 11R i got. I noticed this because once i opened the PT software i saw Rev A on that and thought it was strange they had 2 different rev numbers. The avid tech guy said they have nothing to do with each other, as the software is not tied to the hardware its bundled with.

Anyway im pretty sure they are up to Rev H now, even though i swapped it out for an older Rev D, it still came with the newest firmware and works great so far.
__________________
5 out of 4 people have a problem with fractions...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 & my 002 worked last night but not now Trainwreckmusic macOS 28 11-28-2012 01:51 PM
How would this have ever worked? JrBobDobbs Post - Surround - Video 2 08-16-2011 09:51 PM
It worked when it shouldn't have... paulrgmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-29-2009 12:12 PM
Troubleshooting worked! Harpo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-17-2009 07:16 AM
This has never worked for me.... Guit4Brains 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 11-19-2004 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com