Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-01-2011, 09:38 AM
Chris Townsend Chris Townsend is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 792
Default Re: Eleven Rack Modification!

Nope, it's just a debug connector.
__________________
Chris Townsend
Guitar Products Architect
Digidesign, A Division of Avid, Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-01-2011, 12:02 PM
mikefont mikefont is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 691
Default Re: Eleven Rack Modification!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Townsend View Post
Nope, it's just a debug connector.
Awww, dag-nabbit!!!!

It would been uber-cool if it DID have an expansion slot for another DSP card for a future upgrade

.
__________________
Lenovo IdeaCentre K430 Windows 7 Pro SP1 64bit PC with 3rd generation 3.4 GB Intel Core i7-3770, 32GB DDR3, 2TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT620 running Pro Tools 11.3.1 and PT 10.3.9 and the ELEVEN RACK!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-01-2011, 04:42 PM
Vercingetorix Vercingetorix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rural NSW, Australia
Posts: 971
Default Re: Eleven Rack Modification!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Townsend View Post
Nope, it's just a debug connector.
Awww, man, you are no fun .

At least give us a little time make some wild speculation before spoiling the party .

In any case why don't you/Avid send off an 11R unit just to see/hear the results. I'm very curious about the mod - and whether it would do as claimed. It reminds me of how you could allegedly modify a TS-9 with a cheap Op-amp chip to get yourself a genuine sounding TS-808. I wasn't in a position to try that out though.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-01-2011, 07:04 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,832
Default Re: Eleven Rack Modification!

It could end up being like Black Lion mods. Some people think it's amazing and some people are like "eh".
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-02-2011, 06:20 AM
bassmanjazz bassmanjazz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Somewhere on this mud ball we call earth!
Posts: 204
Default Re: Eleven Rack Modification!

Because of the 11R popularity, I wouldn't be surprised to see the "12 Rack" or whatever, which basically is the same unit with more physical capabilities and perhaps more processing power etc by 2012.

After recording our entire EP with the Rack (drums done in a professional studio the rest at home) the boys in the band are convinced and the guitarists are eye balling them now big time.

Avid, I want some commission!! I've sold more than one of these for you!!!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-02-2011, 09:11 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Eleven Rack Modification!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TieDyedDevil View Post
Might only be a test port for use in manufacturing…
Kinda like the unused RS232 port on the back of the 001....

Or...

Maybe its where they install the mojo
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-02-2011, 12:06 PM
TLTD TLTD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vermontville, MI
Posts: 20
Default Re: Eleven Rack Modification!

The high gain amps are noisy, I need to hear the difference though. Personally, I've been running outboard preamps and just using 11r for the cab sim but the M2 Rhythm and Lead presets are so killer I wish they would fix the noise.

FYI there's an Eleven Rack "UPGRADE" coming next month. Save your money.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-02-2011, 12:32 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,832
Default Re: Eleven Rack Modification!

Are you referring to the Expansion pack? Because that's software/firmware only. Or is there something else you know about?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-02-2011, 07:41 PM
TieDyedDevil TieDyedDevil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 502
Default Re: Eleven Rack Modification!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Maybe its where they install the mojo
It'd have to be a one-way port then, wouldn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-02-2011, 09:54 PM
cessnapilot cessnapilot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 342
Default Re: Eleven Rack Modification!

A port's a port if you're desperate enough.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Differences Between Eleven Rack & Eleven Plugin Becharax Eleven Rack 15 10-16-2015 06:07 PM
Eleven Rack / Avid is not producing anymore Eleven Racks is that true or false? Rongpat Eleven Rack 8 02-11-2014 07:42 AM
Some experimental tracks using Eleven rack and Eleven RTAS kittybite Eleven Rack 4 06-18-2013 12:18 AM
Eleven Rack window responds to changes on Eleven Rack, unable to record. pine Eleven Rack 6 08-02-2012 07:50 PM
Eleven Rack and Eleven Rack control window not matching 11R Newbie Eleven Rack 3 04-18-2012 06:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com