Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2013, 11:47 AM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,181
Default Izotope Nectar 2

http://www.izotope.com/products/audio/nectar/
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2013, 11:30 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 445
Default Re: Izotope Nectar 2

It's great , desser particularly good as well
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2021.7, MAC PRO 12 core 6,1 TRASHCAN with [count it] 64 GIG ram.. Mojave. . TBolt Antelope 32+ Gen3... SSL Sigma summing, SMART Comp C1LA Charteroak eqp-1 etc etc.. all SSD's [samsungpro],
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2013, 03:16 PM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 843
Default Re: Izotope Nectar 2

Would anyone care to make some comparisons with this suite and others in the same space? As usual, the price ranges are massive.

I'm most keenly interested in the Pitch Correction functionality that comes with the Pitch Correction plug-in and the Harmonizer functionality in the Harmonizer module. Pitch correction to the extent of an occasional touch-up. Mostly it's harmonies that lead me to look at this suite.

For reference, I'm getting by using the Elastic Pitch and the time-pitch functionality from inside the Audio-Suite for both touch-ups and setting up and rendering some vocal harmonies. I just mix the results in like I would mix anything else that I add to a Session.

(Sometimes it is quite amazing what one can get for "free".)

Thanks in advance for any insight.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2013, 04:34 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,347
Default Re: Izotope Nectar 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatriotsBiker View Post
Would anyone care to make some comparisons with this suite and others in the same space? As usual, the price ranges are massive.

I'm most keenly interested in the Pitch Correction functionality that comes with the Pitch Correction plug-in and the Harmonizer functionality in the Harmonizer module. Pitch correction to the extent of an occasional touch-up. Mostly it's harmonies that lead me to look at this suite.

For reference, I'm getting by using the Elastic Pitch and the time-pitch functionality from inside the Audio-Suite for both touch-ups and setting up and rendering some vocal harmonies. I just mix the results in like I would mix anything else that I add to a Session.

(Sometimes it is quite amazing what one can get for "free".)

Thanks in advance for any insight.
For me, it's a no brainier with the $99.00 for the Suite Upgrade. It's a good product.. The reverb is MUCH better now with the Plates they have. If you don't need the Pitch stuff, which I won't use and the harmonizer, then I would get just the EQ separate. You can demo it for 10 days fully functional and make up your own mind too. G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2021.7 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX. DAD MOM,Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Catalina 10.15.7 Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.6.3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2013, 04:59 PM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 843
Default Re: Izotope Nectar 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
For me, it's a no brainier with the $99.00 for the Suite Upgrade. It's a good product.. The reverb is MUCH better now with the Plates they have. If you don't need the Pitch stuff, which I won't use and the harmonizer, then I would get just the EQ separate. You can demo it for 10 days fully functional and make up your own mind too. G
Hi, and thanks for the response.

I guess I'm the opposite of you in some respects in that I want to use the pitch correction plug and I want to use the Harmonizer more than the other components.

Perhaps I will change my view of the other components as I get deeper. Well, I did mess with the EQ a bit and did become fond of it in short order.

You said you didn't use the pitch correction. Have you used the Harmonizer and have an opinion of it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2013, 01:11 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,347
Default Re: Izotope Nectar 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatriotsBiker View Post
Hi, and thanks for the response.

I guess I'm the opposite of you in some respects in that I want to use the pitch correction plug and I want to use the Harmonizer more than the other components.

Perhaps I will change my view of the other components as I get deeper. Well, I did mess with the EQ a bit and did become fond of it in short order.

You said you didn't use the pitch correction. Have you used the Harmonizer and have an opinion of it?
Gotcha.. I did look at the pitch thing, but I use Melodyne for all of that stuff..
The Harmonizer is sort of interesting. May try it as a sound design tool more that an traditional harmonizer. I like to do the vocals for real when it comes to harmonies.
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2021.7 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX. DAD MOM,Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Catalina 10.15.7 Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.6.3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2013, 03:27 PM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 843
Default Re: Izotope Nectar 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
Gotcha.. I did look at the pitch thing, but I use Melodyne for all of that stuff..
The Harmonizer is sort of interesting. May try it as a sound design tool more that an traditional harmonizer. I like to do the vocals for real when it comes to harmonies.
I would too, but I am no good at it. It took me a while to find, but I did find the one thing I was worse at than singing straight vocals. singing harmonies.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-23-2013, 04:21 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Izotope Nectar 2

  • The pitch editor is decent, but (as one would expect) doesn't quite have the detection accuracy of Melodyne. I haven't spent much time on it, but I think it is definitely worth the price difference between the Standard and Production Suite upgrade. I would not be at all surprised if Izotope eventually expands the feature set of the Pitch Editor and blends in some RX features.
  • One feature I really appreciate about the pitch editor is that you can sync the PE transport with the PT transport. It requires setting up a rewired instance of PE to act as the bridge, but then the track can be hidden. This is something that IIRC the Melodyne plug-in couldn't do.
  • Breath Control, I can't speak on it. I'm sure it's usable, but I have no immediate need of something like that.
  • I haven't played with the harmony module, but its features seem to be in line with AVOX, which is a good thing.
  • You already know Izotope EQ is useful and has a well-designed interface. Same with the compression.
  • I'm not sure about the other features, I haven't used them yet.
  • I've encountered a few problems with the UI becoming unresponsive in Pro Tools 11. My fix is to close the plug-in window and reopen it. The Pitch Editor can be sluggish.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-24-2013, 08:11 AM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 843
Default Re: Izotope Nectar 2

Thanks for the info, mesaone.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-29-2013, 11:39 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,347
Default Re: Izotope Nectar 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatriotsBiker View Post
I would too, but I am no good at it. It took me a while to find, but I did find the one thing I was worse at than singing straight vocals. singing harmonies.

The trick is not to over use it and listen to what you do. I would create a dup track for Melodyne and work form there. Then you could also look at the videos. My experience has been one of gradual appreciation for it, when I had to work with some poor singers. It REALLY helped with that! Also doubling and getting it to be really tight. I think it does work well if you don't abuse it and give it a change to work for you. Good luck. G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2021.7 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX. DAD MOM,Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Catalina 10.15.7 Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.6.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Izotope Nectar Elements mccoyrare@yahoo.com Pro Tools 10 4 10-13-2013 08:45 PM
Izotope Nectar AAX issue (Pro Tools 11) soldavox AAX Plug-ins 7 09-04-2013 09:08 AM
iZotope announces Ozone 5 and Nectar AAX sunburst79 AAX Plug-ins 26 02-04-2013 05:17 PM
iZotope Nectar in Post Craig F Post - Surround - Video 4 03-01-2012 05:13 PM
Anyone using Nectar? remis General Discussion 6 12-16-2010 02:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com