Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2010, 09:13 AM
paulmitch paulmitch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 104
Default Laptop Battery Power Fail?

So I installed PT9 on my MacBook Pro (2.4 GHz i5, 4GB RAM) in preparation for a vacation. I launched the application at home, and got everything set up. Good to go. On the airplane somewhere between Wisconsin and Oregon, I tried to fire up PT for some mid-flight drum comping. Every time I tried to launch the application, my computer hung mid-boot. I know PT is a pretty resource-intensive application, but I didn't think it would only boot from AC power, and not laptop power. When I got to my final destination, I plugged in the computer, and set things up. No problem at all with AC power.
I understand the short-comings, I was just a bit surprised.

Anyone else have the same issue?
__________________
Home:
27" iMac, (Retina 5k, 2017)
4.2GHz Intel Core i7, 32 GB RAM
OSX 10.3.3
UAD Apollo 8 Duo
UAD Apollo 16 silverface
UAD Satellite Octo, Thunderbolt
PT 2018.10
Work:
Mac Pro (Mid 2012)
2x3.06GHz 6-Core Xeon, 32 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
OSX 10.13.6
Avid HDX HD Madi x 3
SSL C100
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2010, 12:30 PM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Laptop Battery Power Fail?

No. I am been running PT9 on battery on my Macbook Pro without issue.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:34 AM
paulmitch paulmitch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 104
Default Re: Laptop Battery Power Fail?

I'll be doing some more testing over the coming days to determine the issues. I'm surprised I'm the only one having this problem here.
__________________
Home:
27" iMac, (Retina 5k, 2017)
4.2GHz Intel Core i7, 32 GB RAM
OSX 10.3.3
UAD Apollo 8 Duo
UAD Apollo 16 silverface
UAD Satellite Octo, Thunderbolt
PT 2018.10
Work:
Mac Pro (Mid 2012)
2x3.06GHz 6-Core Xeon, 32 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
OSX 10.13.6
Avid HDX HD Madi x 3
SSL C100
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:54 AM
pidge pidge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Detroit
Posts: 108
Default Re: Laptop Battery Power Fail?

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulmitch View Post
I'll be doing some more testing over the coming days to determine the issues. I'm surprised I'm the only one having this problem here.
i'd start with your energy saver preferences....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone had phantom power fail on the 11R? Dufo Eleven Rack 1 02-04-2013 05:17 AM
Mbox 2 on Fujitsu laptop = fail froggerchanovsky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-06-2008 09:25 AM
Laptop with battery works better? Ford Prefect 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-01-2007 10:27 AM
Battery/Power Backup 6figgas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-08-2006 08:06 AM
Power fail in Digi001!! ferllop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-11-2004 05:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com