Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-12-2004, 10:43 AM
idunno idunno is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: bouncing to disc and volume loss

You also might want to try normalizing the recording with the audiosuite plug-in.

File - Make a new track - stereo master fader. you can monitor your bounce output with this, so set it as loud as possible before it clips red. You can also insert the compressor on the master fader, to compress a whole mix. Generally start with about a 3:1 ratio and use about 6 dB of gain reduction as a starting point, and add or subtract from there.

The others mentioned this I think; just wanted to make sure it was a bit more clear.

You can also normalize your bounced file by importing it again, or using an external editor such as peak or soundforge.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-13-2004, 02:57 PM
fredsparky fredsparky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 622
Default Re: bouncing to disc and volume loss

Put an L2 on your master track, If you don't have one Maxim might help.
__________________
FS

July


MP3's
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-13-2004, 04:49 PM
Advocate(NYT) Advocate(NYT) is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: bouncing to disc and volume loss

Wow man, I just tried using a master fader, and it added to my volume... thanks so much, now im just going to try the normalizer/compressor, ill update once i do.

a
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-13-2004, 05:30 PM
Advocate(NYT) Advocate(NYT) is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: bouncing to disc and volume loss

so i tried compressing it to your stats, and it didn't add volume, it just made my mic vocals jump up and down and all over the place... any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-13-2004, 06:24 PM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: bouncing to disc and volume loss

Quote:
Not playing winamp back through the Mbox. Just listening via the out on my soundcard. I am not really comparing it to any mix. I am just recording a short phrase into PT, adjust the volume till it sounds good, and then bouncing it to disk. The resulting wav when played through media player is much softer.

I'll have to do a search on some of these topics


anton
Turn the headphone volume knob on your MBOX down. Now both will be approx the same volume.

Your soundcard for your computer has a single LINE OUT/HEADPHONE OUT whereas your MBox has a separate LINE OUT and HEADPHONE OUT. The amp on the MBox headphone out supplies a lot more volume to the headphones than the Line/HP out of your soundcard does. Why? Because if you were to plug external speakers into your sound card they would sound fine. Do the same to the MBox headphone out and it would be distorting even at a low volume. The soundcard's amp isn't as powerful as the MBox, and it is this way on purpose.

The file itself isn't any quieter, just the headphone jack you're plugging into is. If you were to listen to your MediaPlayer files using your MBox as the soundcard you'd notice they are the same volume as they were when you were bouncing them down.
__________________
Derek Jones
Sound Engineer / Producer / Composer

Derek Jones Linkedin
Megatrax Recording Studios
Megatrax Studios Yelp Page
A-list Music Artist Page
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-18-2004, 07:18 AM
Denes Pagan Denes  Pagan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 10
Default Re: bouncing to disc and volume loss

Can the reference level be adjusted on the player,or hardware, let's say on win media player, for a client that will playback the file for a presentation, to maintain volume consistency? I have found that since I use PT on my powerbook, the final volume sound good on any mac I've tried it, but when played back on any pc using either win media player or itunes, it sounds lower. Someone said It could be the codec I'm using for the mp3 files I'm giving them for playback on pc, but the only codec PT uses is the mp3 option I bought thru digidesign. It doesn't make sense.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-18-2004, 07:57 AM
Room24Prod Room24Prod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 120
Default Re: bouncing to disc and volume loss

"When mixing you must have the Mix knob all the way to PLAYBACK."

Hey Rail, where is the Mix knob? I don't remember seeing something like that. Either that or it's way too early in the morning. lol
__________________
Digi 002R Factory Bundle
P4 2.4 Ghz 1MB Cache
1GB PC3200 Dual-Channel DDR RAM
40GB HDD for OS
250GB HDD for Audio
(2) 17" Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-18-2004, 09:07 AM
Denes Pagan Denes  Pagan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 10
Default Re: bouncing to disc and volume loss

Hey guys, in my experience it's just not a matter of normalizing or correcting volume levels inside a PT session, as Rail says, it is a hardware reference level inconsistency. Now, what I don't know and need to find out is how to bridge this problem between mac and pc. In my case I use a mac powerbook, and my mixes volume sound the same on any mac, but there are some pc's where it sounds lower, and believe me, it's not the eq'ing or the volume on the player on win media player or itunes. And it does not have anything to do with just headphone mixing, I do mine on active studio samson resolv65a/mbox mix button all the way to playback. Any thoughts or suggestions?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bouncing tracks quality loss. Kemo3ce Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 14 10-03-2010 02:41 PM
Volume loss after bouncing to disk MaryJane Post - Surround - Video 5 12-09-2008 09:18 PM
Volume Loss after Bouncing to Disk smoothjay62 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 37 11-01-2007 03:08 PM
Bouncing to disc, Master Volume having no effect funkg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-05-2007 01:35 PM
volume loss after bouncing iamsaved 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-01-2007 09:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com