Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2007, 06:40 PM
amverdile amverdile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Default Has anyone got a 003r to sync via word clock?

I've posted this before but haven't gotten a response. Just wondering if the 003 is having word clock issues with anyone else.

I'm having trouble getting this to work properly. I have Logic 7.2.3 running on a MacPro OS X 10.4.9 with a MOTU Traveler interface. And I have a ProTools 003 rack hooked up running LE 7.3 to a PC running Windows XP media center. I'm trying to get the two to sync up through word clock. I'm using a 75ohm BNC cable from Traveler word clock out to Protools in and another from Protools out to Traveler in.

I've tried to set Protools as the master and Logic as the slave, and vice-versa. Still no luck. I've tried changing the clock source in both and Protools notices if the traveler is not set up right, because it will revert back to internal. I've tried putting them both on line. I've set the sample rate and bit depth to the same on both programs. I'm not sure what else to try. Anyone have any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2007, 06:46 PM
Pepo Pepo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 167
Default Re: Has anyone got a 003r to sync via word clock?

So you are sending clock from the traveler to the 003 and from the 003 back to the traveler? I think you dont need the connection from the 003 to the traveler, just set it to internal and set the 003 to external. I dont know if this could be causing the problem...
Pepo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2007, 07:30 PM
amverdile amverdile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Has anyone got a 003r to sync via word clock?

I've tried it both ways. I tried having ProTools be the master and send clock to the traveler. And nothing happened. Then i tried to reverse it and have ProTools slave to the Traveler. I even went as far as unhooking one of the wires because i thought it may have caused interference. In Protools the session window incoming time code stands still and doesn’t move.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2007, 09:25 PM
soundguy_2000 soundguy_2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rock City Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 149
Default Re: Has anyone got a 003r to sync via word clock?

word clock does not provide any positional sync information. it is simply a digital clock signal.

if you want the two to play in sync, you will need to use LTC or MTC as well.

the 003 has a better clock than the traveller so use pro tools as master if you can.

you will need to:
  • set pro tools to generate MTC by adjusting settings in the session setup page.
  • set logic to receive incoming time code and use it as positional reference.
  • set logic's clock source to external (WC).
  • be sure both systems are set to the same sample and frame rate.
  • put both systems online
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2007, 09:44 PM
amverdile amverdile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Has anyone got a 003r to sync via word clock?

yep. works like a charm. thanks for getting back to me. I almost spent $3k on a UA 2192 master clock. still may get it tho. it'll look great in my rack next to my UA 2-610. but yeah thanks once again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S/PDIF, ADAT, Word Clock - Recording At Optical IN (003R). epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-13-2010 07:39 PM
Word clock sync goga 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-11-2008 11:28 AM
Loop Sync or Word Clock in? Help please.... N.E.R.D Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-03-2008 08:42 AM
Word Clock and SYNC on an 003r Elecshop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-08-2007 10:21 AM
L2 won't sync to 192 Word Clock Studio Dweller Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-23-2003 06:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com