Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2003, 05:22 AM
Skaberlakestudio Skaberlakestudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 154
Default PT 6.02 SLUGGISH AND UNUSABLE

Im using it with a Imac 1gig /512 ram and open sessions I have from OS 9 where Im using a DP 533 (its only using one cpu in os 9)The screen draws are so bad though the cpu-meter doesnt show more than 50%.Shouldnt I be getting better performance using imac 1 G than using G4 DP 533 using only one processor.ARE the drivers so bad in osX .Why can other programs like Logic and DP have more power compared to PT.
__________________
Tobbe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2003, 05:53 AM
Simon Magus Simon Magus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: ROMA ITALIA
Posts: 141
Default Re: PT 6.02 SLUGGISH AND UNUSABLE

Quote:
Originally posted by Skaberlakestudio:
Im using it with a Imac 1gig /512 ram and open sessions I have from OS 9 where Im using a DP 533 (its only using one cpu in os 9)The screen draws are so bad though the cpu-meter doesnt show more than 50%.Shouldnt I be getting better performance using imac 1 G than using G4 DP 533 using only one processor.ARE the drivers so bad in osX .Why can other programs like Logic and DP have more power compared to PT.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Hallo,
I have exactly the same problem!
If you read my previous posts you'll discover an interesting thing:

same computer with same session is OK with 6,0,1 Le and MBOX!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Digi !!!!!!!!!!!!! reply please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Simone Corelli
__________________
Simon Magus
audio eng. in Rome, Italy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2003, 06:52 AM
Skaberlakestudio Skaberlakestudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 154
Default Re: PT 6.02 SLUGGISH AND UNUSABLE

Their intoduktion of this new software sucks.They must know what the reason is why PT 6.02 uses so muth power at laest they could give us some advice if there is something you could do to fix this problem.
__________________
Tobbe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2003, 01:53 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: PT 6.02 SLUGGISH AND UNUSABLE

Hello,

Are you using a dedicated drive for audio? If so what utility was used to format the drive?
Make sure all drives are formatted HFS+ with Disk Utility in OS X. If your audio drive was formatted in OS 9, backup the drive and reformat with Disk Utility. We do not recommend HFS or UFS formatted drives in OS X. Also, make sure you are running the required amount of RAM, atleast 384.

ALso, make sure Classic Mode is not launching at Startup. This is explained in the link below.

Make sure you have tried all of the suggestions on the following thread:

http://duc.digidesign.com/cgi-bin/ub...;f=24;t=021559


Mike
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2003, 03:35 PM
Skaberlakestudio Skaberlakestudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 154
Default Re: PT 6.02 SLUGGISH AND UNUSABLE

Im using it with a separate FW-drive 7200 Lacie that was formated in OSX.Classic is not on.I have 512 ram as I wrote in the first post.I made all things that was suggested from you.The cpu-meter is not so high but the system works very hard and the screen draws are very slow all the time even at a high buffer.I cant work in such conditions.
__________________
Tobbe
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2003, 09:11 PM
Bender Bender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: PT 6.02 SLUGGISH AND UNUSABLE

The Lacie firewire harddrive does not have The Oxford 911 chipset and will not work.

Jimi
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2003, 09:18 AM
Skaberlakestudio Skaberlakestudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 154
Default Re: PT 6.02 SLUGGISH AND UNUSABLE

The lacie drive has the oxford chip and I been using it for PT for over a year in os 9.so thats not the problem.The disc is formated in OSX in the right format HSF+.It is also so that I cant use the buffer 68 samles no matter how few tracks I use.Com on digi and start trouble shot.
__________________
Tobbe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2003, 10:37 AM
Bender Bender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: PT 6.02 SLUGGISH AND UNUSABLE

Hi
The reason I pointed out the chipset was because I wanted to buy that drive and could find no documetation that it contained the information. Could you tell me which model it is because I am looking for another drive for going back and forth to studio and those drives were affordable.
Thanks

Jimi
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2003, 10:43 AM
Bender Bender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: PT 6.02 SLUGGISH AND UNUSABLE

One more thing
My documetation said that 6.02 would only run on OSX 10.2.5 or 10.2.6

Jimi
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2003, 10:46 AM
Bender Bender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: PT 6.02 SLUGGISH AND UNUSABLE

Hi
The reason I pointed out the chipset was because I wanted to buy that drive and could find no documetation that it contained the information. Could you tell me which model it is because I am looking for another drive for going back and forth to studio and those drives were affordable.
Thanks

Jimi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10 editing playlists sluggish to degree of unusable digidesigner Pro Tools 10 16 03-08-2012 01:27 PM
Will my UA TDM plugins be unusable in PT 7.2? OD Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-10-2011 01:42 AM
Workspace Unusable STILL John Mad Anthony Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 33 07-29-2009 09:50 AM
Quad g5 and 002 almost unusable shanestt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 26 03-14-2007 08:23 AM
6.9.2 and 7 have become completely unusable?!?! blumediaprojekt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-14-2005 01:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com