Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2021, 01:06 AM
Kemaneo Kemaneo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default "The following tracks will be deleted" with only 11 tracks!

I'm getting the error message "The following tracks will be deleted, either because they exceed the supported track count, or their width is not supported". However, the session only has 11 tracks and after the message it's completely empty with 0 tracks. Creating a new session and importing the tracks doesn't work because I get "Not compatible with current session".

The session was created by Pro Tools Ultimate with "Save Copy In", but it ONLY HAS 11 TRACKS. How is it even possible that it cannot be open with the regular version of Pro Tools, or at least somehow transfer the session data?

We have a major deadline today (soundtrack stems delivery for a tv show) so this is absolutely outrageous.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2021, 03:27 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,277
Default Re: "The following tracks will be deleted" with only 11 tracks!

Width might mean surround or possibly Atmos (haven't used Ultimate in a while). You can try getting the 30 day demo of Ultimate to let you open and complete the project . . .
__________________
PT 2022.4 DP 11.1 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win11
PT 2022.4 DP 11.1 828es ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win11
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2021, 03:40 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,953
Default Re: "The following tracks will be deleted" with only 11 tracks!

Yes, greater-than-stereo needs Ultimate
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2021, 04:27 AM
Kemaneo Kemaneo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default Re: "The following tracks will be deleted" with only 11 tracks!

How is it possible that there is no way to open the session with just stereo tracks or to listen to the tracks just in stereo? The files are split anyway. Or AT LEAST to import them into a new session in stereo?

This is awful design to force users to buy an extra licence for €70.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2021, 04:29 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,953
Default Re: "The following tracks will be deleted" with only 11 tracks!

If they are split (multi-mono) you need to import the LR tracks to a new session in standard version. Sorry but only Ultimate recognizes greater-than-stereo.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2021, 04:44 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,277
Default Re: "The following tracks will be deleted" with only 11 tracks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kemaneo View Post
This is awful design to force users to buy an extra licence for €70.
I believe the 30 day trial is free. https://my.avid.com/get/pro-tools-ultimate-trial
__________________
PT 2022.4 DP 11.1 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win11
PT 2022.4 DP 11.1 828es ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win11
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2021, 04:44 AM
Kemaneo Kemaneo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default Re: "The following tracks will be deleted" with only 11 tracks!

I mean, I will lose all the edits if I re-import the tracks, and there is also no way to upgrade the licence, so I'm essentially forced to buy another €70 license just to open the session once.

I have already used the trial version once.

There is no sensible technical reason for not allowing this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2021, 04:46 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,953
Default Re: "The following tracks will be deleted" with only 11 tracks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kemaneo View Post
This is awful design to force users to buy an extra licence
Well if things were just technical, there would not be any First, Standard, or Ultimate versions. There would be just one Pro Tools, but its price would be the price of Ultimate.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-2021, 04:58 AM
Kemaneo Kemaneo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default Re: "The following tracks will be deleted" with only 11 tracks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Well if things were just technical, there would not be any First, Standard, or Ultimate versions. There would be just one Pro Tools, but its price would be the price of Ultimate.
There's still absolutely no good reason why one shouldn't be able to import surround tracks as stereo into another session. The tracks will be in stereo according to the limitations of the standard version, but the edit structure would be transferred.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-05-2021, 05:00 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,953
Default Re: "The following tracks will be deleted" with only 11 tracks!

You can suggest a feature request, but as it is currently, only Ultimate even recognizes greater-than-stereo. So if you need to work on Standard you need to prep your intermediate session in Ultimate.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Export Pro Tools "Playlist" tracks as a new session or Split Playlist into new Tracks AMIEL Pro Tools 12 1 12-08-2016 01:48 PM
Q for the board on losing "Sel Up" and "Sel Down" function after committing tracks. ronwasserman Pro Tools 12 0 09-04-2016 08:48 AM
Protools LE 8 hang while "setting up peripherals" and while "loading tracks" xfarre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-22-2011 07:37 AM
Blocking the "P" and "F" sounds in vocal tracks. ice0-5 Tips & Tricks 6 03-18-2011 10:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com