Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2005, 09:46 AM
disc disc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: belgium
Posts: 11
Default mbox inputsignals dont arrive in comp outputs work

hi,


I managed to get hold of a mbox. It is much more stable then the 002R on my pc. and now i can change samplerate and bitrate and stuff.
But now i got a different problem. There is now incomming signal aswel in protools as in cubase.
I do can play audio from the computer through the mbox. also my windows control panel don't recognizes the mbox for inputs but it do recognize it for outputs. I know it's strange but i am close to perfection. Please give me some info if you know what could cause this problem.

thanks,

H
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2005, 09:58 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: mbox inputsignals dont arrive in comp outputs

Quote:
There is now incomming signal aswel in protools as in cubase.
I am confused by this statement. What exactly are you trying to accomplish, and what exactly is the problem you're having (please be as detailed as possible).

The windows control panel uses the Digidesign Wavedriver which is output only, so you will not ever be able to use the mBox as your generic windows input.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:06 AM
disc disc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: belgium
Posts: 11
Default Re: mbox inputsignals dont arrive in comp outputs

sorry,

there is no input signal whatever. I borowed the mbox for recording end this week. Normally i used a soundblaster audigy ex plat wich worked fine but the inputs aren't that good of quality.
I want to use the mbox as interface for recording but i can't get the inputs to work.
When i open a sounfile in cubase or protools or reason, i do can play it and it comes through the mbox. But when i want to record something i get no input signal in the software.

i hope it's more clear now.

thanks,

H
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:16 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: mbox inputsignals dont arrive in comp outputs

What are you using for input and how are you connecting it? Are you setting the tracks up correctly in Pro Tools?

There is a DiskFlix tutorial video titled "Setting up a Track to Record" that might help.

I'm sorry I can't give you any pointers on Cubase, since I don't use it. I find that Pro Tools does everything I need to do.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2005, 11:20 AM
disc disc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: belgium
Posts: 11
Default Re: mbox inputsignals dont arrive in comp outputs

i am using the 2 channels on tyhe mbox wich is connected by USB.

h
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2005, 11:44 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: mbox inputsignals dont arrive in comp outputs

What instrument/microphone? What cables? Which inputs (each input is a combo input, capable or both XLR and TRS)? Stereo or mono track?

Maybe if you offer some more detail of what it is you are trying to do, we could offer more help on exactly how to acheive it?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2005, 12:20 PM
disc disc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: belgium
Posts: 11
Default Re: mbox inputsignals dont arrive in comp outputs

both microphone using an xlr with or without phantom power and jack instrument cable (mono). they both don't apear in the mono inputs in protools or cubase.

I don't know what i could tell you more. tell me.
I am trying to get it to work. so I can move on.

thanks for your patience.

H
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-04-2005, 12:43 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: mbox inputsignals dont arrive in comp outputs

So what you are saying is that when you click on the input selector of your mono track (as shown in this picture ) you do not have mic/line1 and mic/line2 for selections (as shown in this picture )?

If so, then there is something wrong with your installation, but I'm not sure what. If the mBox wasn't connected properly or detected by windows protools wouldn't even open.

(pictures were copied from the Getting Started with mBox guide, BTW)
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:14 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: mbox inputsignals dont arrive in comp outputs

Is the Digidesign ASIO driver installed?
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-04-2005, 11:03 PM
disc disc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: belgium
Posts: 11
Default Re: mbox inputsignals dont arrive in comp outputs

yes, i've got the asio driver installed and it works ok except for the incoming signals. I do have the selection options from the pictures. the Mbox is recognized by my pc but there's simply no signal in the inputs.


h
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 & Logic, Can't Get Digital Outputs to Work appleaudiond 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-07-2011 03:48 PM
Soundreplacer dont work koka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-27-2008 04:11 AM
001 midi inputs/outputs dont work anymore? El CaCa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-10-2004 10:19 PM
mon out dont work sherryAA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-01-2002 01:06 AM
D-fx , Lo-fi, Sci-fi etc. plugins dont work voltech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-06-2002 09:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com