Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2002, 01:28 AM
dj buttnaked dj buttnaked is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Default sample rate conversion

this may be a simple question but nontheless here it is. When trying to transfer ADATs at 48k to my pro tools session everything is cool until I mixdown and bounce to disc. When protools is bouncing everything is fine but when I downsample the tempo slows down. How can I rectify this situation. I am in need of someones help please. [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2002, 03:07 PM
Jorge442 Jorge442 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 1,242
Default Re: sample rate conversion

Quote:
Originally posted by dj buttnaked:
this may be a simple question but nontheless here it is. When trying to transfer ADATs at 48k to my pro tools session everything is cool until I mixdown and bounce to disc. When protools is bouncing everything is fine but when I downsample the tempo slows down. How can I rectify this situation. I am in need of someones help please. [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">you{re sayign that when you bounce everything sounds fine, but when you downsample..........when are you downsampling? are you doing it outside of Pro Tools??

Did you set your PT session to 48k to begin with?

I use to have to switch my sync source from digital to internal (setups/hardware) sometimes when this happened......

good luck

jorge
__________________
what a long, strange trip it´s been

www.abacomusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2002, 03:09 PM
David Fisher David Fisher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 243
Default Re: sample rate conversion

Sounds like something is just strectching it out to put the 48khz of info into 44... hmm
__________________
----------------------------
David Fisher
Berklee Student
Boston, Mass
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2002, 03:46 PM
dj buttnaked dj buttnaked is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Default Re: sample rate conversion

thanks guys, I will look into it a little further. It is probably something that I am doing wrong.

I think I might need a sample converter of some sort before I burn it to CD ( any suggestions?) [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2002, 11:36 AM
Jorge442 Jorge442 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 1,242
Default Re: sample rate conversion

do you have an external (standalone) CD burner??

now go put some clothes on, boy!

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

jorge
__________________
what a long, strange trip it´s been

www.abacomusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2002, 10:32 AM
dj buttnaked dj buttnaked is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Default Re: sample rate conversion

no there is no stand alone cd burner everything is done internally. I think the problem was that the session was started in 48k both on the adat and on pro tools so when I bounced to disk everything was fine. But when I tried to burn to cd I forgot to change the sample rate.

Thanks for all the help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2002, 01:44 AM
bryanbassett bryanbassett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New Smyrna, FL , US
Posts: 574
Default Re: sample rate conversion

I had this problem when I accidently Recorded realtime on the fly digital tracks recorded at 48k (Rolandvs880) into a PTle session via spdif..setup at 44.1 . When I noticed my error and reset the session to 48K the speed of the files changed so now i have this oddball session ..i'm not sure if 001 converted the files on the way in or not.

my thought is somewhere along the line you have a 48k vs 44.1k problem.

I would retransfer your ADAT files and make sure your session is setup at 48k..then when you mix and bounce to disk and select your output resolution everything should sound fine
Bryan
__________________
Macbook Pro Intel dual 2.4 OSX 10.7.5 Lion PT 9.0.6 Mbox Mini / 003R

MAC G5 PPC OSX 10.4.9 / PT 7.3 HD2 - I/O 192 /Control 24

DELL Dual Core, MBOX/003R PT 8 WIN XP
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2002, 12:47 PM
dj buttnaked dj buttnaked is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Default Re: sample rate conversion

Thanks Bryan, I will take note of that in my next session. I will let you know how it goes. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2002, 12:53 PM
citi citi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: sample rate conversion

why do you need to change the sample rate at all? I burn 48khz file with no problem. On your bounce are you changing it to 44?
__________________
CiTi
----------------------------------
http://www.checkonet2ent.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-06-2002, 04:17 PM
dj buttnaked dj buttnaked is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Default Re: sample rate conversion

eventually if you are planning on using anything on a cd the sample rate is 16 44.1k
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sample rate conversion? meathman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 05-19-2007 06:09 AM
sample rate conversion stickytapenrust Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-25-2005 05:24 PM
sample rate conversion stickytapenrust 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-25-2005 03:20 PM
sample rate conversion D Clarkson Tips & Tricks 13 04-15-2003 11:38 AM
Sample Rate Conversion ThreeBlake 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-08-2002 01:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com