Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2021, 02:42 PM
jazzmatazz jazzmatazz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3
Default Reel Tape Saturation - Is it free or how to activate/purchase?

Hey everyone,

I have Pro Tools 10 and I'm looking to use the Reel Tape Saturation plugin from the Reel Tape Suite. I downloaded the installer from the Avid website, ran it, but then when I opened Pro Tools, it's telling me it needs an authorization code on my iLok. I'm confused as to whether the Reel Tape Suite is free for owners of Pro Tools or if it needs to be purchased separately. Because when I check the online store for this plug-in nothing comes up. Any ideas what I should do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2021, 10:02 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,443
Default Re: Reel Tape Saturation - Is it free or how to activate/purchase?

Hi, welcome to the community.

It is activated by Complete Plug-In Bundle. I don't think they sell individual licenses any longer but may be wrong (haven't bought plugins for a long time).
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2021, 05:08 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,015
Default Re: Reel Tape Saturation - Is it free or how to activate/purchase?

I don't know if you can buy a license for Reel Tape. But I do know that there are lots of alternatives out there, and it's not like Avids tape sim is necessarily the best.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2021, 05:10 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,443
Default Re: Reel Tape Saturation - Is it free or how to activate/purchase?

... but if you like, I happen to have one extra license available, PM me if you are interested.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2021, 12:18 PM
jazzmatazz jazzmatazz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3
Default Re: Reel Tape Saturation - Is it free or how to activate/purchase?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
I don't know if you can buy a license for Reel Tape. But I do know that there are lots of alternatives out there, and it's not like Avids tape sim is necessarily the best.
Yea true, but my problem is that I’m using and old version of the Mac OS (Lion) and most alternatives out there require more recent updates unfortunately.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2021, 12:20 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,443
Default Re: Reel Tape Saturation - Is it free or how to activate/purchase?

There is a version for PT8 but you need to request installers from Avid Support as they are not available as normal downloads for some reason.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2021, 12:20 PM
jazzmatazz jazzmatazz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3
Default Re: Reel Tape Saturation - Is it free or how to activate/purchase?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
... but if you like, I happen to have one extra license available, PM me if you are interested.
Thanks for the reply, yes I’m interested, I appreciate that. Sending you a PM now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reel Tape Saturation Bug TOM@METRO 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-04-2010 11:17 PM
reel tape saturation demo 8.0? Marvin the android 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-04-2010 12:13 AM
Reel Tape Saturation vs. Massey Tape Head? CalebB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-14-2008 12:49 PM
Digi Help! Reel Tape Saturation ided2012 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-05-2007 04:15 PM
Reel Tape Saturation??? digifriend 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-16-2007 12:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com