Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-08-2018, 05:12 PM
studiostuff studiostuff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Default Re: Looking for Tempo Map Tip

I don't think Weedy was being catty...

I thought his point was "news you can use". Especially the tempo!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-08-2018, 08:52 PM
Fezzler Fezzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 313
Default Re: Looking for Tempo Map Tip

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwittman View Post
this is, of course, the secret to making " covers of '50s, '60s and '70s songs" sound and feel nothing like " '50s, '60s and '70s songs"
lol.
__________________
[SIZE="2"][COLOR="Blue"]Intel Haswell-E Processors 3.3GHz Core i7-5820K 6-Core; Memory - DDR4: 16GB DDR4-2400 Quad Channel (4 x 4GB); Primary Drive (OS): 240GB SSD SATA3; Secondary Drive (Audio): 2TB 7200 rpm SATA2; Graphic Card: 1GB (HD5450) Dual Display Graphics Card; Optical Drive: 22x CD/DVD Dual Layer Burner; Windows 10 64-bit; PT 12.5; Studio One Pro 3.2; Cubase Pro 8.5; REAPER; MixBus 3
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-08-2018, 08:56 PM
Fezzler Fezzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 313
Default Re: Looking for Tempo Map Tip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Tempo mapping equals having the grid line up to the varying tempo of a recorded piece, by inserting tempo changes in the tempo ruler in PT.

You want to adjust the recording to fit a fixed tempo, and that means using elastic audio and manual work.

The basic procedure that I use at least goes like this:

- Find the appx. tempo of the track by playing it, click on the tempo field in transport window, and tapping 'T' key. You'll see the tempo value will change to match your tapping.

- Find a good bar one in the track and place it on the grid on, say bar five. turn on the metronome and the tempo should match for a few beats until the recording starts to drift.

- Turn on elastic audio polyphonic and set the track to ticks instead of samples.

- Set the track to warp view.

- Place a warp marker on your bar one.

- Find, say bar one of verse two, and place a warp marker there too. If it's not on the grid line, drag it there.

- Find bar one of verse three, place warp marker and line it up to the grid.

Repeat until the end of the song, and you will have the audio roughly adjusted to match the grid and the tempo you chose in step one.

Play the track and the click, and insert more markers and fine tune it until you're happy with the song matching the click.

At least this is how I do it.

Oh, and here's a lot of tutorials on this on youtube.
Thanks! I'm familiar with this process in other DAWs. I appreciate your time to respond and contribute meaningful assistance.
__________________
[SIZE="2"][COLOR="Blue"]Intel Haswell-E Processors 3.3GHz Core i7-5820K 6-Core; Memory - DDR4: 16GB DDR4-2400 Quad Channel (4 x 4GB); Primary Drive (OS): 240GB SSD SATA3; Secondary Drive (Audio): 2TB 7200 rpm SATA2; Graphic Card: 1GB (HD5450) Dual Display Graphics Card; Optical Drive: 22x CD/DVD Dual Layer Burner; Windows 10 64-bit; PT 12.5; Studio One Pro 3.2; Cubase Pro 8.5; REAPER; MixBus 3
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-08-2018, 08:57 PM
Fezzler Fezzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 313
Default Re: Looking for Tempo Map Tip

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
One option; run the originals thru Melodyne(stand alone version) and flat-line the tempos.
Interesting. I'll try it.
__________________
[SIZE="2"][COLOR="Blue"]Intel Haswell-E Processors 3.3GHz Core i7-5820K 6-Core; Memory - DDR4: 16GB DDR4-2400 Quad Channel (4 x 4GB); Primary Drive (OS): 240GB SSD SATA3; Secondary Drive (Audio): 2TB 7200 rpm SATA2; Graphic Card: 1GB (HD5450) Dual Display Graphics Card; Optical Drive: 22x CD/DVD Dual Layer Burner; Windows 10 64-bit; PT 12.5; Studio One Pro 3.2; Cubase Pro 8.5; REAPER; MixBus 3
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-08-2018, 08:57 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,015
Default Re: Looking for Tempo Map Tip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fezzler View Post
Thanks! I'm familiar with this process in other DAWs. I appreciate your time to respond and contribute meaningful assistance.
It's a pleasure.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-08-2018, 08:59 PM
Fezzler Fezzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 313
Default Re: Looking for Tempo Map Tip

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
OP might just want to do cover versions with a modern feel and I for one don’t really see what’s wrong with that. It certainly doesn’t deserve a catty pointless response like this.
I appreciate your thought. Don't worry about it man, I just skipped right by it. Some people have nothing better to do, you know?
I'm not a professional producer. I'm not professional musician. I'm not even an accomplished garage band player.

I'm just a hobbyist who is learning to play guitar, bass, some keys, program drums and record and mix in my man cave. My instructor makes it fun by working with me on popular songs. Having the even tempo is helping me learn and practice timing. It's one way and a fun way to learn.

My instructor has more than 35 years in the business as a songwriter, guitarist, vocalist, producer, recording engineer, arranger, bassist, sometimes drummer, and other various musical instruments. His recording and producing efforts have garnered positive reviews in Rolling Stone, Billboard, Trouser Press, Goldmine, and many others. He has produced or worked with Bob Lind, Bill Lloyd, Hootie and Blowfish, Graham Parker, Dennis Diken (The Smithereens), Don Dixon, Mitch Easter, Jody Stephens (Big Star), Ken Stringfellow (Posies), Robert Crenshaw and many more. His band has played all over the world and even had an appearance on American Bandstand ("I liked the beat and it was easy to dance to.") and The Tonight Show.

So if he tells me to set the tunes to a steady tempo to better develop timing while having fun, who am I to disagree?

(And yes, I know who the poster is and his most impressive talent and career. #respect )

And now back to my cover of The Yardbirds' "For Your Love" - a song so pop Clapton left the band. Inserting bongos.
__________________
[SIZE="2"][COLOR="Blue"]Intel Haswell-E Processors 3.3GHz Core i7-5820K 6-Core; Memory - DDR4: 16GB DDR4-2400 Quad Channel (4 x 4GB); Primary Drive (OS): 240GB SSD SATA3; Secondary Drive (Audio): 2TB 7200 rpm SATA2; Graphic Card: 1GB (HD5450) Dual Display Graphics Card; Optical Drive: 22x CD/DVD Dual Layer Burner; Windows 10 64-bit; PT 12.5; Studio One Pro 3.2; Cubase Pro 8.5; REAPER; MixBus 3

Last edited by Fezzler; 02-08-2018 at 09:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-09-2018, 03:19 AM
ibbod0 ibbod0 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 57
Default Re: Looking for Tempo Map Tip

my way of doing it is to map out the tempo by tabbing to transients and pressing ctrl-i to type in the timing. then turn on elastic audio, set the track timebase to ticks and then delete all the tempo markers. this way you can simultaneously create the warp points and quantize it. then just set the tempo to whatever you like. easy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tempo mapping.jpg (38.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png elastic and timebass setting.png (30.4 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-09-2018, 09:38 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,015
Default Re: Looking for Tempo Map Tip

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibbod0 View Post
my way of doing it is to map out the tempo by tabbing to transients and pressing ctrl-i to type in the timing. then turn on elastic audio, set the track timebase to ticks and then delete all the tempo markers. this way you can simultaneously create the warp points and quantize it. then just set the tempo to whatever you like. easy
Well, easy enough when you're talking a straight kick/snare track like in your screenshots (nice, btw), but not applicable on a full band track. Also, you don't really want so many warp markers, so tight. Quantize will surely screw things up.

I stand by the procedure that I suggested earlier.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-09-2018, 09:38 AM
Fezzler Fezzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 313
Default Re: Looking for Tempo Map Tip

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibbod0 View Post
my way of doing it is to map out the tempo by tabbing to transients and pressing ctrl-i to type in the timing. then turn on elastic audio, set the track timebase to ticks and then delete all the tempo markers. this way you can simultaneously create the warp points and quantize it. then just set the tempo to whatever you like. easy
Thank you!
__________________
[SIZE="2"][COLOR="Blue"]Intel Haswell-E Processors 3.3GHz Core i7-5820K 6-Core; Memory - DDR4: 16GB DDR4-2400 Quad Channel (4 x 4GB); Primary Drive (OS): 240GB SSD SATA3; Secondary Drive (Audio): 2TB 7200 rpm SATA2; Graphic Card: 1GB (HD5450) Dual Display Graphics Card; Optical Drive: 22x CD/DVD Dual Layer Burner; Windows 10 64-bit; PT 12.5; Studio One Pro 3.2; Cubase Pro 8.5; REAPER; MixBus 3
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-09-2018, 03:41 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 534
Default Re: Looking for Tempo Map Tip

It wasn’t meant to be ‘mean’

But rather to make a point.
I think your ‘instructor’ is very much missing the point.

Playing along to The Beatles is in fact far more useful and instructive than playing Ticket To Ride to a click

If you’re making an EDM version of Ticket To Ride, then by all means, a fixed tempo is almost certainly necessary.
But if not...

My point in posting is that it’s far too common these days for people to obsess about ‘perfect’ tempo (and tuning, for that matter) even when it’s in fact antithetical or at least not HELPFUL to making good records of certain types.
__________________
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...Kinky Boots!)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I match tempo of rex2 loop to master tempo siuberto Socarras 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-27-2010 12:23 PM
Need to Change tempo but without changing existing midi data tempo? Einsteinwannabe Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 09-18-2010 07:58 AM
Tap tempo and involuntary time shifting with tempo changing Skiroy Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 08-26-2010 11:00 AM
Pro tools tempo wont match keyboard tempo via midi Killah Kane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-18-2010 02:55 PM
Ramping a Tempo Change (interpolation or discrete tempo points) edgarbc1 Tips & Tricks 3 02-18-2009 01:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com