Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2001, 09:41 PM
Shan Plourde Shan Plourde is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bensenville, IL, US
Posts: 29
Default How do I record bass/drums through MIDI into Protools?????!??!?

Ok, I'm sure this is possible...

How the hell do you setup a drum MIDI track, record your drums to it, setup a bass MIDI track, record your bass to it, and have your MIDI sound module play the right sound banks? Jesus, this is more work than I thought it would be! Guess I gotta suck it in, that's the way it goes!

THanks,

Shan Plourde
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2001, 07:55 AM
Rams Boy Rams Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: OKC, OK, USA
Posts: 263
Default Re: How do I record bass/drums through MIDI into Protools?????!??!?

Add a MIDI track just as if you were adding an audio track. Then on the mix window, on that MIDI track assign your keyboard of choice (the same way you would assign what input on an audio track).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2001, 01:46 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Allison Park, PA (Near Pittsburgh)
Posts: 5,099
Default Re: How do I record bass/drums through MIDI into Protools?????!??!?

You will need midi triggers on your drum set as well as a module that can accept the trigger input (such as an Alesis DM5 or DMPro), and a pitch-to-midi converter for your bass (if they're anything like the guitar controllers, better be prepared to clean up your playing).

Otherwise, use a midi keyboard controller.



------------------
LW
__________________
Larry

PT 2021; MacBookPro M1; 16GB; Spectrasonics; Native Instruments, Toontrack, Waves...too many plugins.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Drums and bass (Xpand2) lose sync-aye carumba scrnplyr macOS 4 04-02-2012 12:32 PM
Using MIDI to record drums HELP rjv0807 Pro Tools 10 4 12-13-2011 01:14 PM
MIDI DRUMS/BASS. how to eq, reverb, delay etc. MUKULIA DESIGN Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 6 02-22-2010 03:15 PM
Syncronizing Midi Bass & Stereo Drums? dts.music Tips & Tricks 1 01-27-2007 10:43 PM
Want to record guitars, bass, drums, vox - is Digi 001 for me? xnorfin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-01-2001 05:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com