Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2006, 10:39 AM
Keniko Keniko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Addison,IL
Posts: 240
Default Computer Monitor Questions

I'm thinking of going with a dual computer monitor set up. Question #1. I'm going with a 19" LCD monitor. Would a wide screen be recommended or just a regular screen? What's the norm in a studio? if there is one. A wide screen obviously shrinks the height and I'm thinking you get more monitor real estate with a normal screen. Question #2. When working on DVD projects and only one monitor is needed....How does that work in a dual monoitor set up? Do you turn one monitor off? What happens with the unused monitor? Does it stay on with a blank screen? Thanks for the help.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Pro Tools 10.3.10, Digi 002, Octopre w/Adat light pipe, Glyph GT052
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2006, 12:23 PM
pinstudio pinstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 176
Default Re: Computer Monitor Questions

i've seen both wide screens and dual setups in studios. i have a dual monitor setup. think of the second monitor as simply an extention of the desktop. you'll have double the space to put all of your plugs or have reason running or your picture for film, or a picture of someone you love or whatever you like...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2006, 12:56 PM
superpenguin79 superpenguin79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 4,783
Default Re: Computer Monitor Questions

man, I would give it a couple years til the LCD flat panel tv's come down in price a bit and just run that as a monitor. That way you can do a days work and still kick back as your home theatre at the end of the day.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:05 PM
Keniko Keniko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Addison,IL
Posts: 240
Default Re: Computer Monitor Questions

Pinstudio..... What size monitors do you have? You didn't mention if your's were wide screen. If they are ...do you like them? My son bought a 19" wide screen monitor and I'm not sure I like the restricted height. My plan is to have the plug ins on one screen and the mix/edit windows in the other. The point of having a dual monitor set up is to view everything easier. A restricted height kinda defeats the purpose. Doesn't it? But if wide screen is recommended or examples given why it's better. I'll go with a wide screen another wise I'll stay with the normal size screen. I was just curious cause it's a good chunk of doe and wanted to see what you guys thought. Thanks.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Pro Tools 10.3.10, Digi 002, Octopre w/Adat light pipe, Glyph GT052
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2006, 05:16 AM
Squint Music Squint Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Luton, UK
Posts: 108
Default Re: Computer Monitor Questions

Hi Keniko,
I've got a new 23" widescreen Apple display for Pro Tools and a 19" regular display for Ableton/Reason. The Apple monitor is amazing but i wouldnt get a smaller widescreen monitor. Im kinda wishing i saved for the 30". Although i am sat about a metre away from my screens because the desk is in front of them.

When the second monitor isnt in use --ie when ur watching a dvd-- it remains blank (black). If its not in use while ur working you'll just see wour desktop background on it.

Hope thats of some help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is your computer monitor placed? DaleB ICON & C|24 5 03-28-2011 11:53 AM
Computer Monitor placement scottleader ICON & C|24 3 09-11-2007 02:04 PM
Where is your computer monitor? Mick F. Cantarella Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-16-2002 04:05 PM
Computer Monitor Latency ;) clicktrackNS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 09-18-2001 11:06 AM
The Best ProTools Computer Monitor uno1234 General Discussion 8 02-06-2001 11:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com