Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2003, 07:56 PM
Valeri Valeri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 211
Default Sound quality of Digi 002 vs Mix system

Hey guys Is the Digi 002 sound better than the Mix system with standart 888 converter.I know that Digi goes all the way up to 96K and Mix is only 48K,but sometimes cheap low end sound cards like Sound Blaser Audigy.......... claim they do work with 96K but sounds horrible.So i was wondering what would be the comparison between 002 and Mix sonicly.Some say Apogee converter sounds better even at48K comparing to anything out there at 96K/192-Hd,RME,Lucyd.../ Which one would you buy if the money is not an issue...........Not considering HD systems at all.Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2003, 01:30 AM
DigiGeek DigiGeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 198
Default Re: Sound quality of Digi 002 vs Mix system

002 Rack and a Rosetta 800 would be my choice.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2003, 08:53 AM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Re: Sound quality of Digi 002 vs Mix system

I'll second that. If not HD... then a 002r, Rosetta 800 and a G5 would be a sweet set-up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2003, 10:57 AM
Ducati 996 Ducati 996 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 200
Default Re: Sound quality of Digi 002 vs Mix system

unless you need to mix in 5.1, and more then 32 tracks
002 Rack and a Rosetta 800 would sound way better then an HD setup
... and at a fraction of the money.
rosetta can go to 96k with 002, and It kicks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2003, 04:39 PM
bopsi bopsi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 209
Default Re: Sound quality of Digi 002 vs Mix system

Hm!..dont forget about 24bit mix bus in 002r...MIX is still far better with its 48bits...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2003, 04:28 AM
mixer mixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Parrish fl. usa
Posts: 723
Default Re: Sound quality of Digi 002 vs Mix system

just used an 002 for the first time to record a session..mixing on my hd system..the sound is great. blows away the old mix systems..even without an apogee.
__________________
www.garyvandy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2003, 04:45 AM
s2n s2n is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 853
Default Re: Sound quality of Digi 002 vs Mix system

Quote:
Hm!..dont forget about 24bit mix bus in 002r...MIX is still far better with its 48bits...
PT LE uses 32-bit floating point math....not 24-bit.
PT TDM uses 48-bit fixed point math.
Both have their advantages/disadvantages.

With the 002 you're also stuck with 16-channels of I/O and limited synchronization capabilities. If you need these features, then a TDM system is the only way to go.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-2003, 12:46 PM
Monte McGuire Monte McGuire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Malden, MA USA
Posts: 292
Default Re: Sound quality of Digi 002 vs Mix system

Quote:

PT LE uses 32-bit floating point math....not 24-bit.
PT TDM uses 48-bit fixed point math.
Both have their advantages/disadvantages.

Right, but TDM plugins don't have to be 48 bit. Some (actually, too many) are not 48 bit internally, and in my experience, these poorly coded plugs sound a lot better on RTAS than on TDM.

I haven't tested things recently, but stuff like the Digirack plugins, BF stuff and the generic Waves stuff was all 22-24 bit, and it sounds sorta nasty compared to the same plug in RTAS. This was in the days of PT 5.x, Waves 3.x etc. Maybe things have improved, but maybe not.

When I have to use a plug that I know is not 48 bit on TDM, I use the RTAS version and I'm a lot happier. To be stuck with only RTAS is not the end of the world, and in many ways, it can give you better results (DSP quality wise) than careless use of TDM.


Best of luck,

-monte-
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-2003, 12:57 PM
pmh3r pmh3r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Brooklyn, NY U.S.A.
Posts: 188
Default Re: Sound quality of Digi 002 vs Mix system

Question about signal path...

If I have a Avalon pre running to a rosetta 800 and then out to 002R which clock is being used...is it the ultra-low jitter rosetta or the 002r? And correct me if I am wrong but you can't send word clock to an 002R right?

--P
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-04-2003, 07:11 PM
Monte McGuire Monte McGuire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Malden, MA USA
Posts: 292
Default Re: Sound quality of Digi 002 vs Mix system

Quote:

If I have a Avalon pre running to a rosetta 800 and then out to 002R which clock is being used...is it the ultra-low jitter rosetta or the 002r? And correct me if I am wrong but you can't send word clock to an 002R right?

Well, on the A/D side, the clock in the Rosetta is what's being used. There's still the monitoring issue, and that depends on what's driving your monitor DAC. If you're monitoring using the 002R, then that clock in the 002R, as extracted from the Rosetta, is what you're using for your monitor path. It probably sounds different than the 002R in internal mode, but it might not be 'right' in an absolute sense either.

A good solution to this is to get a monitor DAC that's relatively impervious to its clock source. The Benchmark DAC-1 is such a beast. It's not a perfect DAC (what is??!!) but it sounds mighty nice and it's pretty immune to the clock you drive it with, moreso than any other converter I've used (Apogee PSX-100, Focusrite Blue 260, Digi 888/24 etc.)

I just finished a CD using a DAC-1 and for the first time, the output of PT Mix sounded the same as the dump from Sonic as did the playback of the CDR on a standalone Tascam. The other good part is that the DAC-1 is relatively cheap - about $750. For a DAC of this quality, that's reeel cheeep!!

As for word clock to an 002R, there's no need anyway. The Rosetta outputs are in phase with each other, so as long as you clock to one pair, all the others will follow. I'm not even sure of the output format (lightpipe or AES), but as long as you get your 002R to sync to its digital input from the Rosetta, all will be well.


Best of luck,

-monte-

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 003 vs Mbox 3 ? about sound quality Tritono9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-05-2011 02:12 PM
Sound quality between MOTU 828 MKII and DIGI 003 Digital Network 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-04-2008 04:27 PM
Sound Quality Digi 003 X Mbox 2 Pro Pantoja 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-12-2007 01:38 PM
Sound Quality of DIGI 001 michaux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 44 12-23-2002 10:47 AM
DIGI-001 SOUND QUALITY UPGRADE!!! where02190 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 07-03-2002 07:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com