Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2003, 06:08 PM
Dopamine Dopamine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 1,502
Default Sysex dumps

Is there a way to load a bank of patches into a synth (MS2000) via sysex?

I just downloaded some patches but don't know how to get them into PT to do the dump.

Any advice is appreciated.
__________________
http://www.phuturetrax.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2003, 08:56 PM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Sysex dumps

I'd like to know the same...
Furhtermore, I recently bought my MS2000 used, how can I tell which OS is running? Is there a way to display it in the LCD? Also, if i need the latest OS, how do I get it in the synth once I download it?

thanks for any help!
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2003, 01:40 AM
ptrbas ptrbas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 483
Default Re: Sysex dumps

Quote:
I just downloaded some patches but don't know how to get them into PT to do the dump
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">You have to import it in PT as an midifile. In the edit screen on the midi track choose "view sysex" you should see now a sysexbox on the track.

Prepair your synth for receiving a sysex dump, look in the manual for this.

Now press play in PT and the sysex are transmitted to the synth.

For saving your synth patches: prepair your synth for a transmition sysex. Enable recording the MIDI track in PT. Press the rec button in PT and do the the transmition from the synth.

Tip 1: Look at the synth manufactor site for a free Edit/library utility or do a search on internet. If your download isn't a midifile you can probably open it thru such utility. SoundDiver from e-magic is a great editing/Library program for almost any device on the market but is expensive.

Tip 2: If you put a sysex dump of all your patches you use in a song on different midi tracks before the start of the song it set your device up for the right sounds, e.g. the sysex are in measure 1 and 2 while the song starts at measure 3.

Hope this helps,

Pieter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2003, 10:46 AM
Dopamine Dopamine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 1,502
Default Re: Sysex dumps

thanks ptrbas! gonna try tonight!
__________________
http://www.phuturetrax.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EMI Publishing Dumps ASCAP Benoni General Discussion 3 08-06-2011 03:23 AM
Certifications are coming ... Brain Dumps anyone mdanielson007 General Discussion 8 05-23-2009 09:43 AM
Edit dumps markers mostlypost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 05-01-2006 11:40 AM
MIDI Time Stamping and Sysex file dumps DrDan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-24-2006 04:08 PM
I'm in the Sysex Dumps! analog assassin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-15-2003 12:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com