Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2006, 06:11 AM
fhinspectit fhinspectit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 175
Default music production toolkit or UAD project pak

I plan on purchasing one or the other. I love the chance of have 48 tracks, also the effects and hybrid make the toolkit an awesome package, but the uad prokect pak gives me nice effect with a dsp card. anyone using either and if so what do you think of them. my main concern is proccessing power with the toolkit.

here is my current set up: pentium D processor920 2.8 ghz/ 2gim ram

I would think that I have enough cpu to handle the conv. reverb along with a couple of virtual inst. in the same session.

last question. Is there a freeze option in ptmp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2006, 09:11 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: music production toolkit or UAD project pak

My personal opinion is that the Toolkit will be more benficial, but that's just me.
Quote:
Is there a freeze option in ptmp
No, freezing is done the old fashioned way (manually) in PT.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2006, 02:24 PM
MDog MDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 526
Default Re: music production toolkit or UAD project pak

You may be disappointed with the UAD-1 card when using it with PTMP. Pro Tools M-Powered does not feature automatic delay compensation, so you'll be stuck with an awkward workaround. Basically, UA supplies a plug that will delay everything to match the double latency of the card. That means everything EXCEPT the powered UA plugins need to be routed through that plug to play in sync. It doesn't sound like too big of a deal until you're in the middle of a session and have to think about the routing.

That said, I use a UAD-1 with my Pro Tools HD Accel (which does feature ADC) and the plugs sound great.

Personally, I think I would choose the Music Production Kit in your situation, but that's just my opinion.
__________________
My best friend is a pitbull.

http://www.badrap.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Music Production Toolkit 2 and PT9? TuftStudio Pro Tools 9 11 02-02-2011 05:38 PM
DV Toolkit 2>Music Production Toolkit nz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-11-2010 05:52 PM
DV Toolkit/Music Production Toolkit upgrade price question EricWillhelm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 12-17-2008 04:23 PM
Music Production toolkit Stoneroses63 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-18-2006 09:46 PM
Music Production Toolkit or MCDSP Project Pak? micline 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-27-2006 12:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com