Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2002, 05:44 PM
NinjaBob NinjaBob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 124
Default Confusing AV "program error"

Here's what I got;
G4 867 running 9.2.1 with 640 Meg RAM
13 slot Digi (Magma) expansion chassis
ProTools AV (AVBV board set) 5.1.1
2-18 Gig Seagate Cheetahs in fast and wide Glyph enclosures
ATTO card running 2.7 EPT
Nvidia AGP card (single)
2 Sony 15" LCD monitors (one connected to the Nvidia, the other to the ABVB)
Machine Control v 1.0.1
USD with most recent USD setup
House sync feeding USD and sync input on ABVB

Here's what's happening: I create a new session on my drive called AUDIO. I can create new audio tracks no problem. I create a movie track. With machine control I try to pull in audio and video from a digibeta. The audio seems to record fine, but the video is about 10 frames long and starts just before my record in point. If I try to play, I get "A Program Error Has Occured" After that, every other attempt to play brings up the error. It has also affected the whole system so badly that I have had to reinstall ProTools about 6 times today.

I've reseated every card, I've reinstalled every program, I've tried recording audio on my VIDEO drive and video on my AUDIO drive. All to no avail. I've run Digi test and the Avid system tests, everything seems to check out. What have I missed? [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]

Thanks in advance for your input.
__________________
Ninja Bob
Hothead
NYC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2002, 06:44 PM
FajitaTone FajitaTone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Default Re: Confusing AV "program error"

You need LTC from the Beta to the USD or be using Serial Timecode. And assign GOBS of ram to everything. I have a similar setup, and it runs great. Good Luck.

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Ray Trujillo
Freelance Audio Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2002, 06:32 AM
NinjaBob NinjaBob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 124
Default Re: Confusing AV "program error"

Thanks for the reply Ray, but nope, that's not it. I do get time code via serial, and the machine locks to the ProTools no problem.

Does Digi have any insight on this?

Thanks.
__________________
Ninja Bob
Hothead
NYC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2002, 07:03 PM
NinjaBob NinjaBob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 124
Default Re: Confusing AV "program error"

Update on the sitch.

Turned out it was a bad ABVB card. Next day turnaround with the advanced replacement was a BIG help. Thanks Jordan!
__________________
Ninja Bob
Hothead
NYC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"pro tools hardware is not installed or is in use by another program error" beatingunicely Pro Tools 11 0 01-17-2014 08:14 AM
PT9 Session Troubles - "Bus Error" in "Main Thread" & Could not complete the Open... tohmit macOS 5 03-23-2011 12:13 PM
iMac PT LE 7.3cs1 Rack 003 Error "Not Installed or Used by Another program" gcharles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 12-01-2010 08:24 PM
Pro-Tools Error "in use by another program" j_north 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-18-2010 10:15 PM
"Program error" with AV:XL and PT5.1U Mario C Post - Surround - Video 5 09-18-2001 11:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com