Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2017, 03:08 AM
Sergey_111 Sergey_111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 14
Default Crackling in Pro Tools 12

Hello! While working with Pro Tools 12, some kind of crackling occurs. Why this can be and what needs to be configured in the program? Did someone happen this? I use Windows 10 Pro and a sound card focusrite scarlett 18i20 (1st generation).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2017, 04:52 AM
Sergey_111 Sergey_111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12

Nobody faced with this? Noise or clicks in the program?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2017, 05:21 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,699
Default Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12

We use Mac only here but what is your computer specs?

Please post a free Sandra report with hard drives and peripherals plugged in and we can see about your system.

Also what buffer size do you have set?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2017, 05:48 AM
Sergey_111 Sergey_111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12

Windows 10 pro, 8 GB of RAM, intel core i5-3470 cpu @ 3.20 GHz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2017, 05:48 AM
audioman1973 audioman1973 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wilmington, OH
Posts: 208
Default Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12

First thing to try is set your playback buffer higher in Settings >Playback Engine. You could also try increasing Disk Cache. If those two things don't help there may be other issues and if that's the case trashing prefs and posting the Sandra Report may help pinpoint the problem as these other fine folks have suggested.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate Studio 2022.5, Eucontrol 2022.4, 3 each UA Apollo x8p TB3 and 2 each TB3 Octo Satellite with UAD Plugins. Various Avid Sonnox Flux Drumagog and Plugin Alliance plugins. Motu MIDI Express 128, Avid Dock, Apple Mac Mini OS 12.3.1 Monterey 8 Cores CPU SSD’s M1 16GB Ram 2TB internal HDD 2TB external

Last edited by audioman1973; 05-05-2017 at 05:51 AM. Reason: Spelling correction
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-2017, 07:23 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,841
Default Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12

Hi Sergey ! There are a few things that can cause this .

What hard drives and how are you recording ? ( Is important what chris ask you , more detalied system report would be helpfull )

Make shure to have all your drivers upated specially the chipset drivers .

And last make shure to have all the windows optimizations done .

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ndows-10-Guide
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2017, 10:21 AM
Sergey_111 Sergey_111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12

Thank you! I will try to do all this. I just used FL Studio earlier and did not notice any performance problems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2017, 02:17 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 942
Default Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sergey_111 View Post
Hello! While working with Pro Tools 12, some kind of cracking occurs. Why this can be and what needs to be configured in the program? Did someone happen this? I use Windows 10 Pro and a sound card focusrite scarlett 18i20 (1st generation).
As usual, the advice here is top-notch. Assuming you've checked all of the above, here's something else. Sometimes The whole audio suddenly sounds garbled and distorted, and just changing the buffer setting to something else (either lower or higher) in the playback engine resolves this. I usually work at 512, and moving to 256 and back again always solves it. It's a strange bug that I never noticed before v12, but that may be because I jumped from v8 to 12.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2017, 02:58 AM
Sergey_111 Sergey_111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12

Lesbrunn, thanks! I am very grateful for the advice!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-2017, 03:12 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 942
Default Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sergey_111 View Post
Lesbrunn, thanks! I am very grateful for the advice!
You're welcome, bro. Hope you find a solution soon.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crackling and Static on Pro Tools 11 jzaid22 Windows 6 07-30-2015 08:17 AM
Crackling & Hissing in Pro tools 9.0.6 r.fornelli@yahoo.com Pro Tools 9 1 04-14-2012 10:33 AM
Pro Tools 8 crackling quadrifoglio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-19-2011 09:22 AM
Still getting crackling sound with Pro Tools 9 Ransom Pro Tools 9 21 01-10-2011 12:36 PM
pro tools crackling problem n8tron 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-10-2010 02:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com