Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-24-2021, 11:26 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,676
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franklyn View Post
ha ha ha, Sorry :)

I m on 2020.12 and I had some issues some days ago.

but thanx for the info. i change my profile.

so, is this 100% fixed?

than I will verify whats up with me special problem.
I don't know if it's fixed.
Read my post from ten days ago.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-24-2021, 03:50 PM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 466
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

Not been fixed yet. Delay compensation problems all over the place in 2020.12 still. I'm sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-25-2021, 01:11 AM
Franklyn Franklyn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 328
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

XJensen, thanx, ok, so I am right and not the only one.

Ben Jenssen, yes I read your post. Thats the reason why I wrote.

And I know that this is a forum and not a support center. I am here since the 90s :)

but I think its good to remember the most important things that are going wrong with avid.

thanx

Frank
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-25-2021, 01:57 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,707
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by XJENSEN View Post
Not been fixed yet. Delay compensation problems all over the place in 2020.12 still. I'm sorry.
Yes sorry to chime in with bad news, however it is a mess and the whole Track folder thing feels undercooked.

Our main issue is that when adding tracks and or moving the tracks in or out of folders makes our Controller units loose track of what channel is where.

So if we have track 22-33 in a folder called drums for example and the tracks on the controllers up and we add a track to Drums folder all tracks layed out on the controllers move but not 1 fader to the right but jumbles up all 11-12 tracks in the folder so all of a sudden we aren’t editing track 22 but maybe track 31. When adding One track it should just follow the folder hierarky and move the track into the folder without screwing up the folder completely.

Sorry if badly explained but thats what I can do in terms of explanations. In short it looks like PT and the Controllers loose sync and contact with eachother and just guess what was made and runs with that LOL

And out of sync daily occurs with just a freeze and unfreeze action. Stopped using folder tracks all together in PTU and use them in Live10Suite for now.

TO EVERYONE with these issues Please add your VOICE here in this thread so we have somethin to Forward to AVIDTECH otherwise they ”might” not see this as a critical issue and put it in a long que of other non ”critical” errors so we have to wait another 20 years to get a fix.

Appologise for the negative wordings here but we have been trying with both ICON and Ableton aswell as Avid to get an answer regarding the CONTROLLER Issues of moving and screwing up the channel and fader orders inside the folders so we can’t use the ICON controllers for anything other than as a big transport surface and no faders or mixing with them. Yes we do 85-90% of mixing with our SSL4056G+ console but we write and produce with the ICONS and cant risk causing havoc on a mix by moving the wrong faders after we make a change in a track folder. Ableton issued a fix within a week and that was a year ago
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-22-2022, 10:56 AM
CV CV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 230
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

Just bumping this thread.
Has there been any changes to the the issue with freezing track while having a Negative Track Delay in session ?
I'm still experiencing issues on version 2022.4.0
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-22-2022, 02:01 PM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 466
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

Yes, confirmed case, confirmed bug, we're now over 2 years later and they have done 0.0 about it. Pro Tools is still plagued by various delay compensation issues and AVID just doesn't seem to care or they are plain incompetent to solve it. I wonder when, if ever, they will get this mess fundamentally fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-22-2022, 02:30 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,306
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

My best advice: Instead of Track Freeze, use Track Commit(you can always revisit the original tracks should the need arise). Track Freeze has not been 100% trustworthy for me, or for most people I know Track Commit has never let me down
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-22-2022, 03:32 PM
CV CV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 230
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

Thanks for quick response guys.
Very frustrating.

Just to confirm the nature of the bug: if you have a negative track offset on any tracks in a session, committed or frozen nested folder tracks will play out of sync ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
updated to 11.3.1, now it plays tracks behind? awritersparadise Pro Tools 11 4 05-01-2015 01:25 PM
Playback Engine scrambled. Plays stereo track out of sync aasteveo Pro Tools 9 2 06-01-2012 03:38 PM
Mac Pro Nehalem / Pro Tools 8 / movie window plays out of sync on second monitor monkeyp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-27-2009 02:32 PM
Sync problem? Bounced WAV plays too fast! MrJoshua 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-03-2006 10:23 AM
Problem record in sync more than 4 tracks. Jiri Gotz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-19-2003 07:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com