Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 10-27-2022, 12:52 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: MIDI gets recorded early

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post

You should also notice that there is a GLOBAL MIDI PLAYBACK OFFSET
that can be entered. This is detailed on page 812 of the Pro Tools Reference Guide, and may be helpful if the problem is in your particular system. You'll find the part about MIDI Real-Time Properties on page 814. Really, you should read this entire chapter.
I'll have to check this out. But wouldn't this be to compensate for the latency of a MIDI device (the time it takes the MIDI keyboard, etc to register the note and spit out the midi information and then be received into the sequencer)? I can't imagine that this would be able to compensate for every VI since every VI likely responds differently.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2022.12
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 11.6.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 10-27-2022, 02:25 PM
massivekerry's Avatar
massivekerry massivekerry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 480
Default Re: MIDI gets recorded early

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
I'll have to check this out. But wouldn't this be to compensate for the latency of a MIDI device (the time it takes the MIDI keyboard, etc to register the note and spit out the midi information and then be received into the sequencer)? I can't imagine that this would be able to compensate for every VI since every VI likely responds differently.
Yes, I think that's the idea, especially with Devices that don't have USB-input (ie - DX7->MIDI interface->USB port). Also, specifically for older (or non-Avid) interfaces that don't have the TDM/PCI-e low-latency benefits.

As the manual says:
Quote:
This capability is provided in large part to compensate for the audio monitoring latency in host-based Pro Tools. If you are monitoring the output of external MIDI instruments with an external mixer or sound system (or headphones), there is no latency. If, however, you are monitoring the output of your MIDI devices through a Pro Tools interface (such as 003 family devices), your MIDI tracks sound slightly later than your audio tracks. The larger the setting for the H/W Buffer Size (128, 256, 512, or 1024 samples), the larger the latency.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

Mac Studio Ultra : 128GB RAM : Ventura 13.1 : Carbon : PT Ultimate 2022.12 : S1 : Metagrid Pro

Last edited by massivekerry; 10-27-2022 at 02:26 PM. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-02-2023, 11:09 AM
smokeydan smokeydan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 59
Default Re: MIDI gets recorded early

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
I'm not convinced this is a bug. I made a video explaining why:

Pro Tools Record MIDI Early?
I did a similar test a couple of years ago and came to the same conclusion.

Having said that, I think there are still actual bugs with MIDI and the delay compensation.

I just updated to 2022.10 on the HDX rig, and for the last few weeks, I have been recording a live band set up. The keyboard player has a midi keyboard connected via USB to a Mac laptop using standalone Arturia instruments hosted there.

I am recording the audio from the interface of this keyboard rig, but also recording the MIDI direct out of the controller keyboard onto an instrument track.

The buffer setting (on the Arturia Instrument on the keyboard rig) is set to minimum, and off the top of my head, supposedly just over 1ms of latency according to the preferences window in the Arturia software. There will obviously also be a slight delay due to the digital to analog conversion in the interface connected to the keyboard rig, and another slight delay due to the analog to digital conversion in the interface of the Pro Tools rig we are recording onto) but it shouldn't amount to much, I'm guessing maybe in the order of 3ms altogether.

But I have consistently got the MIDI recorded onto the VI track around 1500 - 1550 samples (around 30ms @ 48k) early compared to the audio recording (which appears to be in time)

I have tried with different VIs in the instrument track, different buffer settings on the pro tools rig, and it never seemed to change, its always out by the same. I tried changing the routing of the VI so it went direct to an output, I tried disabling the delay compensation, nothing much changed.

I was looking through preferences and saw under MIDI - "Delay Compensation for External Devices" - which I think I had noticed before, but maybe assumed that this was to do with compensating for MIDI delays when playing back MIDI performances on external; modules/synths. Anyway, I unchecked MIDI Notes and Controllers, tried a test recording, and the difference was down to a much more reasonable 220 samples (4ms), which I think could possibly be accounted for by latency in the keyboard rig itself, and I doubt its the sort of delay that most keyboard players would notice. (I'm sure many will disagree!)

But the kicker is, when I switched this MIDI "Delay Compensation for External Devices" back on, the 1500 sample discrepancy did NOT come back. Somehow flipping it off and back on again appears to have reset something in the delay compensation engine.

Sometimes, even with just audio in the picture, Pro Tools delay compensation engine can get confused when plug ins are added, or routing is changed. I've occasionally had an unexplained delay between left and right on the main stereo bus after inserting a plug in or changing some routing. Make the channel inactive and then active again, and it normally seems to cure itself - so I'm wondering if somehow there's was a glitch in the compensation engine that only got cured when I reset this preference?
Possibly compounded or perpetuated by me importing all the same tracks and routing from a template session?

But now, even if I go back to an earlier session where this problem was occurring, I cannot recreate the issue. The takes that were out are still out by 1500 ish samples, but when I do a fresh recording, its back down to just over 200 samples.

And if I record the MIDI directly onto an Instrument track and then print the audio from that, as far as I can see, zooming right in, they are now precisely aligned.

Something to try anyway, if you are experiencing this kind of extreme early MIDI recording.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1, 2 x 3.46Ghz six core Xeon, 64GB RAM, Mojave, PT Ultimate 2022.10, H/D Native PCie, Avid Omni interface.
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, 64GB RAM, Catalina, PT Ultimate 2022.10, 2xHDX cards & UAD Octo PCIe card in Sonnet TB Chassis, 2 x Lynx Aurora 16 interfaces.
MacBook Pro 32GB RAM Catalina, PT 2022.10, UAD Apollo X4

Last edited by smokeydan; 02-02-2023 at 11:22 AM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recorded Audio from MIDI Instrument Placed Early on Timeline? taylor4814 Pro Tools 2019 10 03-02-2020 11:28 AM
MIDI being recorded early rosindabow Pro Tools 2018 3 10-15-2019 05:40 AM
Recorded audio placed 40ms too early peteage FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 3 09-11-2013 08:05 PM
Midi recorded early allstaar macOS 2 05-09-2011 03:27 PM
Click plug in is early when recorded stormpro Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-13-2006 10:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com