Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2001, 06:42 PM
Minathreats021 Minathreats021 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 12
Default DAE

hey.i just got the Digi001 and I have PTLE 5.1. when i open it, it says DAE memory is low... WHat is DAE...and how do i fix the problem?
Please respond, thanx

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2001, 03:12 PM
David Fury David Fury is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: DAE

I have the exact same problem. I phoned Tech support and they told me to increase my memory. I spent the time and money and increased my memory another 256megs, and I still got the same error!
I've tried every configuration to fix this and nothing works. Don't let tech tell you that it's hardware incompatability. My PC is a brand new completely compliant machine to every spec, and the last version of protools worked fine. This is frustrating! I've spent too much time and money on it already, and will find another solution if it isn't working today.
__________________
dfury
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2001, 11:41 AM
december_sky december_sky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 141
Default Re: DAE

What kind of PC you both have?specs.

------------------
Gabriel.
__________________
Gabriel.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2001, 09:53 PM
David Fury David Fury is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: DAE

I purchased this machine on direct advice from DigiDesign tech, and followed their specs to the letter. I have a Compaq Presario model 5003US - Intel chipset - 850 Mhz Pentium III - 384 megs PC133mhz SD sync RAM(256 and 128) - IBM IDE 7200rpm 20 gig hard disk - No additional hardware except MOTU Midi Express XT connected to LPT1. Newly installed Windows ME from scratch with reformatted drives (note: Protools 5.01 worked fine with the same config on this machine with Windows98 SE.
I believe I have tried every hardware profile possible, so if you have any thoughts, I would really appriciate the input. Thanks for your interest.
__________________
dfury
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2001, 03:31 AM
11 11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 56
Default Re: DAE

I think someone else had this problem before...
Try taking out some of your RAM..
windows 98 can only use up to 256mg of ram in the first place so the rest is just wasted.

hope it works.....
11


[This message has been edited by 11 (edited February 26, 2001).]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2001, 09:36 AM
nakedsingularity nakedsingularity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Dallas, TX 75206
Posts: 15
Default Re: DAE

Make sure your hard drives are set to DMA. I was getting the same problem until I did this.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2001, 01:14 PM
IOP Drummer IOP Drummer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 570
Default Re: DAE

Digital Audio Engine is what DAE stands for. Pro tools is stricly software that handles the 'picture' and layout of a session. The DAE is what handles all of the audio playing, recording, processing, etc. DAE is ver important, and is the foundation of Pro Tools. All programs must have some sort of audio engine running under it.
__________________
Mike Blanchard
Engineer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com