Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2007, 08:31 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,718
Default Hidden shortcut for autorename?

Hi,

is there a hidden shortcut for "auto rename selected"? There´s no official one as far as the manual goes.

If not how do you guys lable a bunch of spliced up foley clips you want to name "FTS JOHN" instead of "FOL 345-22123 in the timeline. Having to select "auto rename" in the region list menue a couple of hundred times a day is kinda lame.

I´ve been using region groups to work around this but since PT becomes more and more sluggish and instable the more groups are in the session I avoid this now.

thanks,

frank.

P.S.: I know I could consolidate and rename but then I´d lose all handles wich is NG in case of a recut.
__________________
PTHDn 2021.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2007, 08:59 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,718
Default Re: Hidden shorcut for autorename?

As a reward I´ll share this hidden feature (hope it´s new for you guys)

Accidentally hit return or "z" and your playhead is at zero hours and can´t remember where you were working?
1) Don´t touch or click anything!!
2) Hold the alt-key and click right in the center of the "cross" where you zoom up and down the waveform. I mean right in the center between the waveform "louder/softer" switch and the "midi zoom in/out" switch. NOT on the switch.

The timeline-view will jump back to the last location where you worked.

3) Do NOT press play. PT will play from zero hours again. Click into the timeline first to set the cursor there. Continue to work.

This only work as long as you respect step 1).

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2021.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shortcut to close hidden tracks and groups? djmichaelwenz Windows 14 01-31-2022 06:21 PM
Hidden Shift command keyboard shortcut daeron80 Pro Tools 10 3 05-15-2012 07:22 AM
Another hidden feature??? jre3132 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-10-2007 01:48 AM
hidden tracks vtone Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 11-28-2000 02:25 PM
Hidden "gotchas" w/TP, MTP AV & MMC??? knewbee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-07-2000 06:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com