Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2021, 10:53 AM
Daniel_Dettwiler Daniel_Dettwiler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: ch 4125 riehen
Posts: 479
Default Mix without EQ's - possible?

Hi all

I created a new video - this time I remix a song without any single EQ.
Al Schmitt inspired me to try this, when I got to meet him at a conference.

the result is a surprise for me
https://youtu.be/PMoTWbamkyY



Daniel
youtube Channel:
https://www.youtube.com/c/DanielDettwiler/
__________________
Daniel Dettwiler
Idee & Klang
www.ideeundklang.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2021, 05:17 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 749
Default Re: Mix without EQ's - possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel_Dettwiler View Post
Hi all

I created a new video - this time I remix a song without any single EQ.
Al Schmitt inspired me to try this, when I got to meet him at a conference.

the result is a surprise for me
https://youtu.be/PMoTWbamkyY



Daniel
youtube Channel:
https://www.youtube.com/c/DanielDettwiler/
Hi Daniel... saw that video on youtube... perfect, well done. Thanks for it, it´s very inspiring
__________________
MacPro 5,1 12core 3.46ghz 96GB:
PT Ultimate 2021, Mac OS Mojave,
PT10 HD3, Mavericks,
Logic X, Digital Performer, VEPro

MacBook Pro: Logic X, Mainstage
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2021, 05:25 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,147
Default Re: Mix without EQ's - possible?

While not necessarily good idea for a final mix, I do this a lot when I track a live gig from split and do a rough mix while soundcheck is on. That would not be otherwise necessary but doing a rough mix without plugins makes you realise if some mic positions need to be adjusted. While touching the subject, at those gigs I also rely on the holy trinity of LCR -- meaning all tracks are panned hard l/r or dead center.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2021, 06:49 AM
Daniel_Dettwiler Daniel_Dettwiler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: ch 4125 riehen
Posts: 479
Default Re: Mix without EQ's - possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonwurm View Post
Hi Daniel... saw that video on youtube... perfect, well done. Thanks for it, it´s very inspiring
Thanks
__________________
Daniel Dettwiler
Idee & Klang
www.ideeundklang.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com