Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2022, 06:08 PM
BLG BLG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Pleasanton
Posts: 107
Default Tempo of click track is way too slow

My click track is much slower than the tempo of the song. There are no tempo changes in the song and if I put the cursor at the point I want to record the right tempo shows next to Tempo. If I open the Click II plugin its at the right tempo too. But when I try to record the click is super-slow. Like maybe half-time or even slower. What could cause that? This is new behavior on a song I've been working on for months.

This is Pro Tools 2022.4 on Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2022, 06:39 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,175
Default Re: Tempo of click track is way too slow

What note note fractions is Click II set to click on?

Pro Tools is set to follow meter and conductor track is enabled? You absolutely sure there is no temp automation on the conductor track?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2022, 07:11 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,969
Default Re: Tempo of click track is way too slow

Shift + spacebar = 1/2 speed playback
Ctrl/Cmd + spacebar = record (one of 3 shortcuts for that; other two being F12 and 3 on the number pad)
Shift + Ctrl/Cmd + spacebar is 1/2 speed record

My guess is you are screwing this up.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2022, 07:16 PM
BLG BLG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Pleasanton
Posts: 107
Default Re: Tempo of click track is way too slow

I had the conductor on. I don't even understand what that does but by turning it on the problem resolved. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2022, 08:38 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,969
Default Re: Tempo of click track is way too slow

Conductor follows your tempo map. Conductor off allows you to set fixed tempos.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2022, 09:10 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: Tempo of click track is way too slow

Turning conductor track off allows you to play at a manually entered tempo without destroying your tempo map - sometimes necessary. Also allows tap-tempo function.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14.6, PT 2021.10 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
click track won't change tempo xjohne macOS 1 05-22-2014 01:18 PM
Click Track only at one Tempo in MP9 NAOTTO Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-11-2012 06:06 AM
Click track seems to speed up/slow down boove 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-09-2009 03:33 AM
Click track/tempo changes toddbux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-22-2007 10:58 AM
Tempo map and click track Gary H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-29-2004 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com