Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2022, 03:00 PM
kayamusic kayamusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1
Default Can't hear myself recording over beat

Hi. I'm very new to Pro Tools.

I imported a wav file, my beat, to record my vocals over. However, when I play start, I can't hear myself over the beat as I'm recording. I don't know what I need to do.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2022, 06:02 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,700
Default Re: Can't hear myself recording over beat

More than likely the loudness of your beat file was maximized when it was produced. Use clip gain to reduce it's level 12dB or more. This will give you a lot more headroom available for being able to hear your voice.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2022, 09:45 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Can't hear myself recording over beat

Since you are just starting out, it might be good to watch something like the Writing a Song In Pro Tools tutorial video, which will cover the basics of recording in PT and should help get you on your way.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2022, 11:05 AM
Voideco's Avatar
Voideco Voideco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Posts: 878
Default Re: Can't hear myself recording over beat

There is a little button named "I" which stands for input monitor, next to the red record button in your mixer. Switch it on and off you go.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-A600FN met Tapatalk
__________________
Mac Book Pro 2016 Retina, Quad core i7, 2,5 GHz
16 Gb 1600 MHz RAM, 256 SSD drive, 500 Gb SSD USB3
OSX Sierra 10.12.5, PT 12.7.1, UVI Falcon 1.0
Metric Halo ULN8 Firewire Interface,
NI Komplete Control S49 midikeyboard
Shure SM57 mic, Beyer Dynamic M88 dynamic mic
2 Audio Technika AT4021 mics
Washburn w/Seymour Duncan PAFF humbuckers
Fender Strat w/Seymour Duncan Hot Strat pickups
LAG Western guitar, Koch Pedaltone preamp
Mesa Boogie Fifty/fifty Power Amp
Celestion speaker 12" 85 Wtts, Harley Benton 2 x 50 Wt.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2022, 06:57 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,986
Default Re: Can't hear myself recording over beat

Grab the faders and adjust to suit.(the faders do not affect the recording level unless you are doing fancy routing to print plugins)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't hear track I'm recording on but can hear all others Durstlaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 03-03-2016 08:54 AM
Hear yourself while recording? Pbas43 Tips & Tricks 5 07-04-2015 10:23 AM
can hardly hear myself while recording bryced87 macOS 23 07-01-2015 01:31 PM
Can't hear vocals during recording mikecamp1978 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 04-25-2009 01:45 PM
How Can I Hear The Vocalist Without Recording Craiger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-04-2009 09:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com