Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2022, 10:27 AM
Unoute Unoute is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Vienna
Posts: 5
Default Feature Request for Avid Dock push encoders

At the moment the push encoders on the Dock reset the Value back to its standard value.
I believe one should be able to choose what the Push encoders on the Knobs do. And I also believe that it should be possible for those encoders to have up to four push functions.

Example of four possible push functions:
• Push the encoder for 3 seconds results in Reset to standard Value
• Push the encoder for 3 seconds with SHIFT engaged results in invert EQ/Curve or EQ/Band
• Push Encoder results in toggle the encoder Function (like the SEL button on the touchscreen or the Pysical SEL Button on an S1 would do).
• Push the encoder with SHIFT engaged would toggle the input function (like the IN button on the touchscreen or the pysical IN Button on an S1 would do)

These are just my 4 examples of how the push function could be occupied. It would be nice if any Eucon command could be placed on any one of the 4 push encoder button states.

But since the DOCK does not have physical SEL and IN Buttons, like the S1 has, it should also be possible to replicate these buttons with the Push encoders if needed.

Hope what I am asking for makes sense

Best regards Etuonu
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2022, 10:26 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Feature Request for Avid Dock push encoders

I would absolutely LOVE to have the dock (as well as the S1) push encoders be assignable to toggle between frequency and Q for my EQ plugins. However, I recall Eddie saying that reprogramming the push encoders is in reality a lot more difficult than one would think. So I am not holding out hope that this will happen any time soon.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2022, 12:32 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,055
Default Re: Feature Request for Avid Dock push encoders

Quote:
Originally Posted by originalscottyg View Post
I would absolutely LOVE to have the dock (as well as the S1) push encoders be assignable to toggle between frequency and Q for my EQ plugins.
You, me both (and everyone else.)

To this day I have no idea how it ended up not being that as the default. I know it relates to the S6 setup but everywhere it should have been like that. (And the last thing I want is an accidental "reset" of a band to be that easily reachable.)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-08-2022, 07:40 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,098
Default Re: Feature Request for Avid Dock push encoders

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
...the last thing I want is an accidental "reset" of a band to be that easily reachable.
boy, no kidding...how many times has this bitten me?
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14.6, PT 2022.6 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dock 2x4 knobs push function? Protone Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 4 09-28-2021 01:49 PM
Dock with S1 fader and encoders !? Eneco Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 10 09-08-2021 11:06 AM
Feature Request: Dock monitor level pop-up originalscottyg Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 5 05-14-2021 02:31 PM
Feature request: Video slave w/o Avid hardware Mark Ziebarth Post - Surround - Video 13 02-11-2020 04:51 AM
Feature request for the dock in Logic robertg Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 7 04-10-2018 02:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com