Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2007, 06:38 PM
music music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 270
Default Importing Session Data

Hello all,

I have tracks that have automation on them and I want to bring in the eq, compression, volume, etc. from another session without pulling in and replacing the automation that exists on the destination tracks. Is there a way to do this without replacing the existing automation.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Keith
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2007, 07:18 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Importing Session Data

Yes, turn off "Automation follows edit" during editing.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2007, 07:55 PM
music music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 270
Default Re: Importing Session Data

Thanks for the reply PT. Unfortunately that did not do it. I just read the manual and it says;

"Volume Automation and Setting Imports the source track’s Volume fader setting and any automation
data on the track’s Volume Automation playlist. The Volume fader setting and any Volume automation data in the destination track are replaced."

It would be nice if digi separated the volume "from" the automation setting when importing session data so it would not be replaced in the destination track.

But thanks anyway. I do appreciate the reply.

Cheers,

Keith
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2007, 10:54 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Importing Session Data

Try this:

Import your “source” track, minus media, paths, labels, etc. as a new track (i.e. don’t assign the import to any existing tracks).
Once in your session, you can pick and choose which type of data to use (via copy and paste) with greater versatility than what importing session data currently affords.

To retain existing automation, but “add” volume data from the imported track… copy volume automation from the source track, and paste that onto the “Volume Trim” automation of the destination. Most likely, you will have to trim the entire copy/paste region, with the trim tool, to fit the situation. Coalesce when done.

IHTH.
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2007, 12:00 AM
Bart HLH Bart HLH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brecht, Belgium
Posts: 91
Default Re: Importing Session Data

I keep my basic mix settings at the end of the session. After importing everything into another session, I go to the end of that session and "write to all" to overwrite any existing automation.

On D-Command I use the capture/punch function to save mixer settings which you can import into other sessions.
__________________
www.highlakehill.be
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2007, 05:02 PM
music music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 270
Default Re: Importing Session Data

Now those sound like a good work arounds. I will try that. You guys are awesome.

I appreciate it.

Keith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Session Data from PT 11 Voice Crafters Pro Tools 11 2 07-28-2013 08:29 AM
Importing session data Rune Thuelund Post - Surround - Video 4 02-15-2012 11:57 AM
need help importing session data rjd2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-06-2008 11:11 AM
Importing Session Data In 7.3 dw3 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-02-2007 11:37 AM
importing session data PT7 John@wombatstudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-28-2005 03:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com