Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Old 02-25-2007, 01:24 PM

Default No Instrument Insert on Instrument tracks

Hi,

I am fairly new to PT. I have had my own system for about 4 weeks, consisting of:

MacBook Core Duo 2.0Ghz with 512 MB
Pro Tools Academic 7.3
M-Audio Ozone keyboard/interface
Old World Computing external drive.

When I have an instrument track, I cannot access any instrument plugins.

I click the little insert button, then pick multi-channel plug-in, and the next menu over looks like this:

Dynamics >
Reverb >
Delay >
Modulation >
Dither >
Sound Field>
Other >

The books, manuals, and the workstations at school all show an "Instruments" option in this menu, and that's how I have been using instruments. I have tried searching DUC and have not seen this mentioned anywhere. I have Expand! installed with the 1.0.1 upgrade, and I'd like to use it. What am I missing?

Paul in Seattle
Old 02-25-2007, 05:13 PM

Default Re: No Instrument Insert on Instrument tracks

You may not have any software instruments properly installed. I had no problem installing xpand but several others seem to have different issues. Did your academic edition come with the ignition pack? That includes lite versions of Reason, Sampletank, BFD and Live which you could install...
Old 02-25-2007, 08:14 PM

Quote:
You may not have any software instruments properly installed. I had no problem installing xpand but several others seem to have different issues. Did your academic edition come with the ignition pack? That includes lite versions of Reason, Sampletank, BFD and Live which you could install...
I know I installed Reason and Expand!, and possibly Ableton Live. No EQ option shows up either.