Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2013, 10:50 AM
cablet cablet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21
Default recording track question - newbie

Hello,
I am just getting started with Pro Tools. Our goal at the moment is to record some dialog. We have PT10 HDX with HD i/o and HDSync. One of the assistants I am working with is certain his sound engineers in the past were able to do something that we can't figure out so I thought I'd ask here if this is possible.

In our very limited experience when we record to one track it creates a wav file for each time we start recording. We can use those individual wav files or group the clips together in the track and do a bounce out to one file.

Our assistant is certain there is a way to record such that the wav file on disk is treated as tape. Each time you record you are adding to the actual wav file on disk so there's only one file per track at the end of the day without doing a bounce.

Does this make sense and is this possible?

Thanks for any feedback regarding this.

-Cablet
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2013, 12:00 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: recording track question - newbie

Yes, that can be done with Destructive recording. Right-click the Record button to find the available options.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2013, 04:06 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: recording track question - newbie

I would use Destructive Punch over Destructive Record but you need to know total length before you start

I don't know anyone that records destructively anymore, kind of defeats the purpose of using a DAW
you can't comp the performance form different takes

if the output is just the edited comp and no effects look at Consolidate, it will take all the different clips on the Timelines playlist and merge them into a single file faster than real time
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2013, 11:26 AM
trakbytes trakbytes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 848
Default Re: recording track question - newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post

... I don't know anyone that records destructively anymore, kind of defeats the purpose of using a DAW...
The only times I find that are beneficial to use destructive record are if you have a strictly linear file you are recording from beginning to end and want to have a completed file when you are done, or if you are updating a previously recorded file and want to keep the original file names and unique identifiers. Usually this would be in a re-recording situation such as a film mix where your sources are in other tracks and you can go back to the original if you wish. With data storage cheap, there's no reason to skimp on multiple takes. It's not like a 24 track tape recorder where you keep going for the ultimate take and realize you had it 10 takes before but you recorded over it.
__________________
Save early and often! (or once a day whether you need to or not...)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie question: How do I record from one track to another? sb_stefan Getting Started 17 04-06-2015 01:46 PM
Recording Midi...Newbie Question JonnyGinese MIDI 3 09-23-2009 10:30 AM
Newbie Track count question. abt Tips & Tricks 12 08-20-2009 08:23 AM
newbie question about recording on through mbox jjblugrassy Tips & Tricks 2 08-12-2007 10:36 PM
mbox newbie problem with multiple track recording maxmaestro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-31-2004 07:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com