Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2010, 02:44 PM
blakesaw blakesaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4
Default Sync video w/ audio rec w/ Venue HD

Is there anybody out there has, or needed to, sync video up with audio that you record to the HD system at FOH? Our church is looking at starting a streaming service, and to try to be good stewards of money, want to try to record the music live, mix it back later w/ studio speakers, and use the remixed version w/ the video that was captured. The way we currently capture video is from a 3 camera + graphics mix that is outputted into Final Cut.

Anybody have any thoughts?

Someone suggested getting the SYNC HD and using a shared clock for both the computer capturing video, and the computer running ProTools, but I'm not sure that would work, as I don't know how the SYNC HD would interface w/ our FOH rack.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2010, 02:48 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Sync video w/ audio rec w/ Venue HD

Welcome to the forum. Just so you know my former church (I've moved, that's why it's former) we had a Venue DSHow @ FOH with an HD3 Accel in the audio studio. I would record the audio and mix it live in the studio for broadcast while synced with the house video. We would later edit in final cut. Technically there is nothing with ProTools and Venue you need to do for its connection---however are you asking to later playback backing video WITH backing audio that the worship team will then play along with? And if so are you wanting to also record everything back to HD?
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2010, 03:22 PM
blakesaw blakesaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4
Default Re: Sync video w/ audio rec w/ Venue HD

Thanks, been a long time stalker to the forum, but never had a question I couldn't find an answer for...until now.

So, right now, we have budgeted to upgrade the FWx we had to an HDx, and are getting a Mac with the HD Native card. That was all set to go, when the idea of streaming was brought to the forefront. My hope is to use the same computer to remix the live service for streaming, and then sync that audio with the video for that service and combine them as a file we can post to a streaming server. Just not sure what the easiest way to sync them will be.

Does that make sense?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2010, 11:33 AM
vlepore vlepore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 58
Default Re: Sync video w/ audio rec w/ Venue HD

So you aren't trying to stream in real-time. You're essentially trying to post an edited video with re-mixed audio online, correct?

If so, it sounds like you need your Final Cut machine and your Sync HD to receive timecode from a timecode generator, and you'll also need to feed both video sync (ie. black burst).

From there, I'm not 100% sure how you'll sync the final products. It seems to me like either you'd need to bounce a mix from Pro Tools and import that audio into final cut, or you'd need to export a quicktime from final cut and import that into Pro Tools. In either scenario, the bounced/exported file would need to have timecode embedded into it in order to sync up once you import into the other program, and I'm not sure how you'd do that.

I'm sure there's a simple answer that someone can clue us into, but I see your dilemma
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2010, 12:08 AM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default Re: Sync video w/ audio rec w/ Venue HD

...if it was an avid editor I know exactly what to do. Not that savvy with syncing with FCP
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video and audio out of sync Claude@claudestein.com Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-17-2012 06:44 AM
Audio and Video out of Sync! juanjo! Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 08-15-2012 08:07 PM
Venue Profile and video ref/Sync IO Robobo1 VENUE Live Sound Systems 8 04-23-2012 02:52 AM
Audio & Video Sync w/ PT Choro Tips & Tricks 3 02-12-2001 03:05 PM
Capturing Audio & Video w/ DC 30 + (Audio Sync Problem) sroewe Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 11-01-2000 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com