Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2009, 03:46 AM
strangeLoop strangeLoop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greater Los Angeles Area
Posts: 184
Default Strike - Import MIDI

I have not seen this question ask, so maybe I am really off-base, but it seems that there is no way to import a MIDI pattern into the Strike style editor.
The reason being that if I wrote several drum patterns as part of a Sibelius project and then imported the MIDI into ProTools 8, I could play Strike with the MIDI tracks in Kit mode, but it would be nice to use the complexity and pattern management features of Strike.
Russ shows how to fillet the drums out to several MIDI channels, but I would prefer to organize the drums and patterns all within Strike.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2009, 04:33 AM
RussUK RussUK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 3,725
Default Re: Strike - Import MIDI

Quote:
Originally Posted by strangeLoop View Post
I have not seen this question ask, so maybe I am really off-base, but it seems that there is no way to import a MIDI pattern into the Strike style editor.
The reason being that if I wrote several drum patterns as part of a Sibelius project and then imported the MIDI into ProTools 8, I could play Strike with the MIDI tracks in Kit mode, but it would be nice to use the complexity and pattern management features of Strike.
Russ shows how to fillet the drums out to several MIDI channels, but I would prefer to organize the drums and patterns all within Strike.
Not possible to import the patterns to MIDI, each pattern in Strike is effectively 3-4 patterns which gives you the complexity. You can however still vary the dynamics on your patterns. Your plan is already correct. What you could do is import a groove into Strike to change the feel.
__________________
I work with amazing people who do incredible things.

Founder of the Expert Sites.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2009, 11:41 AM
strangeLoop strangeLoop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greater Los Angeles Area
Posts: 184
Default Re: Strike - Import MIDI

>Not possible to import the patterns to MIDI, each pattern in Strike is effectively 3-4 patterns which gives you the complexity.

If you could import the basic pattern and then add the complexity it would be a whole lot easier than having to manually copy 6 or 8 patterns from a Sibelius chart.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strike HH import Alio 45 Virtual Instruments 0 03-30-2010 04:59 PM
Can I import midi files to Strike? jlasoul Virtual Instruments 1 04-22-2008 09:03 AM
STRIKE ONLY IMPORT A LITTLE PART OF THE PERFORMANCE AMIEL Virtual Instruments 1 04-02-2008 11:51 PM
STRIKE - import midi files? Real-Time Feel Intepretation earthcorp Virtual Instruments 2 06-24-2007 06:04 PM
STRIKE? IMPORT? carnology 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-02-2006 09:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com