Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2007, 11:03 AM
Durka Durka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 192
Default Apogee Rosetta 800 or Lynx Aurora 16

Hello, I would like to here from users of either of these two AD/DA options as to how they are working with your Protools HD systems? Also which option seems to run with the least amount of issues with HD?

Thanks,

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2007, 11:23 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Surrey
Posts: 653
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 or Lynx Aurora 16

I have the Rosetta 800 from before I had the HD system. I love the sound especially when clocked from the Big Ben. However, if I was starting from scratch I would just get Digidesign 192s. There is not such a difference in quality now as there was in the days of mix systems with 888s. You can get a Digi X-HD card which allows the direct connection to an HD PCIx/e card, bit it all seems like expense and hassle for little gain.
__________________
Mac M1 2020 16 GB
OS 12.0.1
PT 2021.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2007, 07:46 AM
bruceup bruceup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Philly
Posts: 290
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 or Lynx Aurora 16

I run a Rosetta 800 clocked by a Big Ben. Sounds wonderful in both directions and works like a charm. I don't miss my 192 i/o at all (except I'm down to 8 i/o now).
__________________
a $120k business degree will get you a job on Wall Street - a $120k Berklee degree will get you a job on Beale Street...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2007, 10:02 AM
mikeoxbig mikeoxbig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Hollywood, CA, USA
Posts: 291
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 or Lynx Aurora 16

I had a Rosetta 800 with X-HD card, sold it and got an Aurora 16 with LT-HD card. I switched to the Aurora for the inputs and the ADC compatibility. The Rosetta sounded a little better and the build quality is better. I wouldn't go back though, 16i/o is a necessity for me and ADC with the Aurora is so damn convenient. I still haven't tried clocking with a BigBen though. I do want to try one. If I get one anytime soon I'll report back.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2007, 01:26 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,646
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 or Lynx Aurora 16

Quote:
I switched to the Aurora for the inputs and the ADC compatibility.
mikeoxbig,

Perhaps you can expand on that comment. Specifically, does the Aurora have identical input and output delays to the 192? We have both Rosetta 800s and DA-16Xs and I know that the input and output delays for both is more than a 192.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2007, 02:53 PM
rmccam rmccam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 286
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 or Lynx Aurora 16


I have a Rosetta 800 running with an x-digi-HD card and it works great... I've never had any issues. The imaging of it is really focussed... overall it's one of the better converters I've heard.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Ryan McCambridge
Producer • Sound Designer • Mixer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2007, 06:03 PM
Durka Durka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 192
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 or Lynx Aurora 16

Thanks for all the responses I am a bit confused on the Apogee Rosetta 800 and ADC in Protools HD...
Is the mix bus and plugins still compensated for within Protools if I would use this interface?
Do you just loose Harware insert ADC? I am confused!!

I track into Protools with Analog synths DrumMachines etc... and am use to nudging audio to grid to compensate for the latency going into HD. I really would like to use this Apogee as a front end to my HD rig but just need some clarification as to if you loose all ADC in PTHD 7.4.

Thanks,

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2007, 06:14 PM
zennman zennman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 69
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 or Lynx Aurora 16

New X-HD card firmware 2.07 now supports ADC

This firmware includes all features added in the X-HD firmware release of August 15th, 2007, including:
• Detection of X-HD equipped Apogee interfaces as Digital 192 Interfaces in Pro Tools software.
• AD/DA16X Advanced routing changed.
• Latency correction values now entered in Pro Tools software I/O Setup pane.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2007, 10:12 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,646
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 or Lynx Aurora 16

But it only does ADC if the Apogee I/O is used as a hardware insert and the compensation value is entered manually.

What is not compensated for is the time difference between the Apogee interface and the 192 interface A/D or D/A conversion times when not used as a hardware insert. If you look in the I/O setup, on both the inputs tab and the outputs tab there is a checkbox that allows you to enable compensation for either output (playback) or input (recording) delay. This compensation is aligned for the 192, not for the Apogee interfaces. Therefore, even when these boxes are checked, the audio recorded into Pro Tools via an Apogee interface will be behind in time as compared to what's already there, or what's been recorded through a 192 at the same time. Digidesign should give us the capability to either put in our own interface I/O delay compensation values, or they should allow Pro Tools to recognize third-party interfaces and automatically compensate for the correct value.

Given that Digidesign has never concerned themselves with whether or not third-party hardware manufacturers' products played well with Pro Tools, I also think that Apogee should have recognized this limitation and done everything it could have to overcome it for the benefit of their customers. Apogee converters might be the bomb, but there's a problem if audio recorded through one does not appear exactly in the timeline where it should. In my book, close enough is a compromise.

Durka, check Apogee's website for something called Adcalc. It'll show you how to manually compensate for your interface when you're using ADC and hardware inserts.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-11-2007, 01:11 PM
2fly 2fly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 296
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 or Lynx Aurora 16

hi,

I use the Aurora and the 192 together and have had no ADC issues. They work
really well together and the 16 in/outs on the Aurora sound very nice. PTools
treats the Aurora as a 192 and set up is very easy.
__________________
Alan
http://www.2flystudios.com
G5 2.5ppc, 4gb ram, OSX 10.5.8, PT8.0.1cs4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apogee Rosetta 200 (MINT), Lynx AES16e-SRC, Apogee Duet, BBE 882i, OFFERS ENTERTAINED jrhager84 Buy & Sell 5 03-11-2013 02:25 AM
Anyone using a Lynx Aurora 16 with PT9? deskman Pro Tools 9 9 12-10-2010 10:51 PM
folcrom rms216, rosetta 800 w/ xhd, lynx aurora 16 w/ xhd mon ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 08-10-2007 09:51 PM
Lynx Aurora 16 or Apogee AD16X Keith Moore Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 01-08-2007 08:49 PM
96i I/O no good? Apogee rosetta? Lynx aurora? donnacha Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 12-30-2006 05:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com