Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:45 PM
alexbcn alexbcn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default Does PT LE work with Mac Mini

Has anyone tested pro tools on a 002 Rack with a Mac Mini. I've bought a 002 Rack and with a laptop 2,66 PC with 1 gig of RAM it's virtually unusable. So I'm looking for alternatives.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2005, 01:42 PM
WaxTrax! WaxTrax! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 206
Default Re: Does PT LE work with Mac Mini

It should work fine, but it'd be slower than that laptop probably. Their CPUs top out at 1.42 GHz (GHz isn't everything of course, but still), and the hard drives in Mac Minis are like laptop hard drives, which means they are slow, so you'd want to use an external FireWire or USB drive.

But, for the $600 you'd spend on a Mac Mini, you could build a PC that would kick the hell out of it for performance.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2005, 02:12 PM
musicsup musicsup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 112
Default Re: Does PT LE work with Mac Mini

If going for a mac, wait until Jan, this is when the 1st Intel CPUs are supposed to come out I think on the mini mac platform first! I think, not 100% sure.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2005, 10:42 AM
WaxTrax! WaxTrax! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 206
Default Re: Does PT LE work with Mac Mini

Today on Think Secret they are reporting that they expect the iBooks to be the first Intel Macs out of the gate
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using The new Mac Mini with Pro Tools 11 and HDX, would it work? bad jitter Pro Tools 11 0 06-24-2013 12:57 PM
Mbox 2 mini will not work on new Mac 10.8.6. PhilT 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-04-2013 08:53 AM
Will MBox 2 Mini Work... celadith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-28-2010 05:00 PM
Mbox 2 mini doesn't work sytrusze 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 07-13-2010 08:13 AM
Mac Mini work-around shultzee13 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 01-11-2010 08:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com