Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2012, 02:13 AM
Rune Thuelund Rune Thuelund is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dernmark
Posts: 20
Default Importing session data

Hi everybody.

I am working on my first feature film, and I have a question regarding importing session data.

My work flow: I have worked on short sequences from the film, and it is now time to import the sound from the different sequences to a session with the whole film.
Is there a smart way to do this, or is it just importing and then "manually syncing" the sound to the picture?


I am on Pro Tools HD 9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2012, 04:08 AM
mr.armadillo mr.armadillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 826
Default Re: Importing session data

Not sure what you mean by "manually syncing". Since you've already worked on the sequences, why would you need to sync again?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2012, 05:54 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: where land meets sky
Posts: 2,375
Default Re: Importing session data

I imagine what you have now is many sessions with difference scenes in them. Each scene is probably placed near the beginning of each session. There are different ways to do what is needed. It is common for sound work to begin at the 1 hour point, which is where the first frame of the complete film is placed. As I said, I do not think you have your work this way, yet. There are different ways to accomplish it. I would adjust the Pro Tool sessions for each different scene to start at the whole film's beginning, not just a particular scene, and have silence from the film's beginning until the scene you have composed. You may have to manually copy+paste all tracks of each scene to make that happen. You want each session to begin at the same absolute time location, which is usually a minute or two before the 1 hour mark, with the film's first frame beginning at exactly the 1 hour mark. After doing that for each of your scene sessions, it will be easier to import from each into one long film session. As long as all session timelines begin at the same point, each scene will easily import to the proper place without extra effort. Does that make sense?

As I said there are different ways to accomplish this. Some people would simply import from each scene session into the film session first, to avoid adjusting each scene's session, and then moving everything into the proper location, but I find it safer and easier to move things in each smaller session first.

This is why most of us prefer to work to the finished film from the start, so that we can avoid "conforming" our work to the final film's timeline. Also, most of us work on tracks that are used throughout the film, not a scene-by-scene basis, and rely heavily on automation, so that we are usually working in sessions that cover the entire film, or at minimum each reel of a film.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2012, 11:09 AM
Rune Thuelund Rune Thuelund is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dernmark
Posts: 20
Default Re: Importing session data

Hi guys.

Thanks for the reply.

I have got it now. But it is a slow process with little over 40 different scenes to import with 80 - 150 audio tracks each.

But I need more tracks! I try to keep the final session clean and organized, but with only 192 voices... I find it problematic.

I find my DSP overview constantly in the high yellow and red even though I only use a couple of surround reverbs and eq's

Any suggestions how to organize the session?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2012, 11:57 AM
postofficer postofficer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 19
Default Re: Importing session data

I'm guessing that if you have 80-150 track for each scene that you've got individual tracks for many of your elements. Maybe try slimming things down so that you've only got a handful of Dialogue, FX, Ambience, Music (or whatever else) tracks that contain many regions.

Eg. instead of tracks like Guns, Footsteps, Foley, whatever, condense all those down to as many FX tracks as you need, let's say 10-20 from 50, as long as FX elements don't overlap they can easily share the same track and just have their volume/plug-in parameters automated. This will also help with bussing for M+E mixes, or whatever else you may be asked for later.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Session Data from PT 11 Voice Crafters Pro Tools 11 2 07-28-2013 08:29 AM
need help importing session data rjd2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-06-2008 11:11 AM
Importing Session Data music Tips & Tricks 5 10-21-2007 05:02 PM
Importing Session Data In 7.3 dw3 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-02-2007 11:37 AM
importing session data PT7 John@wombatstudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-28-2005 03:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com