Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2010, 06:21 PM
timsen timsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Default Latency MBox?

Dear PT Users,

after a while I am not sure about latency in PT. I recorded the Phones Output of my Mbox directly to its Line Ins with PT8. My results were 26 ms delay which is quite a lot and should not occur. If I made no mistake in measurement, please help me out with those latency problems.

Thanks very much
Best regards
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2010, 06:36 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Latency MBox?

There is always some latency with digital recording. It is incurred each time there is an A/D step or a D/A step.

All you can do is minimize it by changing your Hardware Buffer setting.

Setup>Playback Engine... H/W Buffer Size
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2010, 01:18 PM
timsen timsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Red face Re: Latency MBox?

Dear Flommer,

thanks for your reply.

So at least there´s no such thing like Delay Compensation (only HD)for havin guaranteed to be on the spot to the playback, right?. My best idea on that is to move the clips, to be 100% right on time. But this should be no solution for professional recording. I am a bit surprised...

Best regards
Frohe Ostern
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2010, 01:54 PM
qubit qubit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 32
Default Re: Latency MBox?

hi,

i think you do not understand completely how LE works.
please see my post in this same forum and give me your opinion. i made precise measurements.

cheers,

qubit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2010, 02:22 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,035
Default Re: Latency MBox?

Quote:
Originally Posted by timsen View Post
Dear Flommer,

thanks for your reply.

So at least there´s no such thing like Delay Compensation (only HD)for havin guaranteed to be on the spot to the playback, right?. My best idea on that is to move the clips, to be 100% right on time. But this should be no solution for professional recording. I am a bit surprised...

Best regards
Frohe Ostern
Tim
If you record everything at the same buffer setting, the delay will not matter because everything will have that same 26ms latency, meaning everything will be lined up. It really only matters when the delay is audible enough to mess up your takes.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2010, 02:30 PM
qubit qubit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 32
Default Re: Latency MBox?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
If you record everything at the same buffer setting, the delay will not matter because everything will have that same 26ms latency, meaning everything will be lined up. It really only matters when the delay is audible enough to mess up your takes.
thats what we hope for.
i challenge for proof.
please can u elaborate a bit more?

cheers,

qubit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-2010, 04:17 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,035
Default Re: Latency MBox?

For example, I track out a kick, snare, and high hat at 128MB. And I track those same three instruments at 512MB. Let's say at 128MB, the latency is about 8ms (just throwing a number out there) and at 512, the latency is about 25ms. At 128MB, all 3 instruments will have 8ms delay coming in and be lined up. At 512, the three instruments will have a lot more latency coming in at around 25ms. But even though there is a lot more latency, each instrument still has the same latency, which means they should still line up perfectly with each other.

Now lets say you record the hat a 128, the snare at 512, and the kick at 1024. The latency for each instrument will be different and you may have issues with them being in sync. But the buffer setting is just for playback, meaning it shouldn't really affect where the sounds actually lines up on the grid, only the time it takes to be output to the speakers. But to be safe, I record everything at the same low buffer setting, usually 64, 128 max!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-05-2010, 08:13 PM
timsen timsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: Latency MBox?

Hi Floomer, Hi DJ,

we should make a difference between the monitor delay and the recorded delay. I always mute my software monitoring and just listen to the playback of the computer. My input signal is direct monitoring on my mbox (Input/Playback 50/50)
Let´s say we keep everything constant (Buffer size, etc.) does it matter how many plug ins I add one after another during production for the recorded delay? What´s your experience?

Worst case: Measuring every single recording with the re-recorded click to slip it to the right spot

When I get you right, you say there´s no delay compensation on the recorded tracks at all. Do you agree?

Greeting
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-05-2010, 08:24 PM
timsen timsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: Latency MBox?

...DJ, we´re d´accord with having the new recorded tracks NOT! in sync to the given playback?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
omni/native latency vs mbox pro latency chrisdee Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 34 03-30-2012 07:24 AM
Mbox 2 Pro vs Mbox latency - Mbox 2 Mini pro? marcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-28-2006 08:18 PM
Mbox latency in 6.1 richiefingers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-28-2003 05:23 AM
PT 6LE >> MBox >> Latency Imagine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-27-2003 10:13 AM
Mbox latency wsd3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-20-2002 02:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com