Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-10-2011, 09:44 AM

Default Mac Mini and PTLE 8

So I am thinking of going Mac as the PC I have been using for a few years now is getting quite long in the tooth. I am kind of over trying to figure out which set of hardware will 'just work' with PTLE and a 002R and all the config and troubleshooting that goes along with it. I would like to just get something and plug it all in (and install software) and have it work, just like that.

Does anyone have experience with the Mac Mini, will I run into any problems with using it as a PTLE system? I intend on using 2 19 inch LCD panels with it for a 2560 x 1024 workspace (would hate to give that up) and some sort of external FW drive for audio storage. The new iMac is nice and all, but I don't need the screen, and a Mac Pro is a bit steep for me right now. If there was something between the iMac and the Mini, that would be a great route, but not happening I guess.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Mike Pfeifer
Old 05-10-2011, 09:51 AM

Default Re: Mac Mini and PTLE 8

Also, one question I forgot to add in:

Will I have any issues with iLok plugin auth's and transferring them to work in OSX? I currently only have auth's for a few Bombfactory plugins on there, but I do use them quite a bit.. would hate to lose them or have to re-buy them.

Thanks,
Mike Pfeifer
Old 05-10-2011, 10:26 AM

The Mac Mini will work great. Keep in mind it doesn't come with monitor, keyboard, or mouse. If you already have those, that's fine, but if you have to buy them, then it might make more sense to get the cheapest Imac. Sounds like you already have the monitors, but you may need an adapter for hookup.