Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2004, 01:43 PM
Paul Nelson Paul Nelson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Beaverton,Oregon,USA
Posts: 84
Default Protools midi sequencer

Will the midi sequencer in Protools ever be upgraded?
I currently use logic but would use protools sequencer more
if I could do step time programming and use an arpegiator.
Simple to do I'd think.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2004, 02:07 PM
NuBus NuBus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: East Coast
Posts: 693
Default Re: Protools midi sequencer

How about Midi Scrub!!!!

I've been doing that since the 80's
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:09 PM
Paul Nelson Paul Nelson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Beaverton,Oregon,USA
Posts: 84
Default Re: Protools midi sequencer

Exactly! I was a performer usr since version1.2. After using performer and logic and protools
I"m confused as to why features and functions we've been using for close to
20 years is not available on this "post millenium state of the art product"!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:18 PM
PTUser NYC PTUser NYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 996
Default Re: Protools midi sequencer

Before they add more MIDI features, I'd like to see it simply get tighter.

If you record a simple MIDI Kick Snare eighth note type groove (Kick = dotted quarter, eighth, half note, snare on 2 & 4, 8ths an the hat), quantize it, and listen to it, you can feel that it isn't anywhere near as tight as, say, an MPC60.

Take a kick, snare and hat sample, put the audio regions on the beats, and build the same groove - much tighter now, isn't it?

I realize that there are all kind of delays in synthesizers and MIDI, but what about this?

When I slave Reason 2.5 to Pro Tools 5.1.3cs5 via MTC, I can see Reason chaning tempo wildly to follow the discrepancies. Sure, its CLOSE, but compare that to the same Reason Track bounced as audio and imported into Pro Tools, and the difference is staggering.

Audio is TIGHT on Pro Tools, MIDI has too much slop. Whats the point of advanced groove quantize, if the tempo is gonna drift so bad?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:29 PM
Dr Fletch Dr Fletch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 45
Default Re: Protools midi sequencer

Yeah and another thing! Because of Pro Tools' inadequecy in the midi domain, I use Cubase (used to be Studio Vision Pro, those were the days) and lock the two macs with MTC. Not bad, but ok sync.

NOW, I've upped it to 6.4. OSX.3.4 Using ProTools as master it's fine, but when ProTools is the slave...It can wander alarmingly!!!

me?

the price of progress
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 10 sync to MIDI sequencer tzic Pro Tools 10 0 07-01-2013 11:59 AM
Midi Interface for use with ProTools Sequencer Digitalkidd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 09-25-2004 11:47 PM
Protools as a MIDI Sequencer airwavejoel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 10-20-2003 12:38 AM
Anyone know of a Midi sequencer that's similar to Protools? mlemos 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-26-2002 07:06 AM
the MIDI sequencer in Protools!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! jmoss501 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 09-28-2001 01:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com