Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2012, 08:21 PM
Toadwick Toadwick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Princeville, HI
Posts: 36
Default Bounce to Disc malfunctioning - HELP!!!

I recorded tracks the other day using a Presonus Digimax lightpipe unit for drums - I set the sample rate to 48 to satisfy the existing Pro Tools track (Gtr).
I also recorded bass DI at that time. I came back afterward & recorded two vocal tracks - mic pre into the 002. The tracks sound great running on the monitors - but when I try to bounce to disc the vocals only make weird warbling sounds. I tried to alter the sample & bit rates but still no luck on the bounce.

The computer is a new Mac running OS X (Lion) with Pro Tools 10. I am still using my trusting (old) 002 mixer.

Has anyone else had this problem & found a fix?

Thanks!

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2012, 08:55 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,274
Default Re: Bounce to Disc malfunctioning - HELP!!!

Is the Digimax still connected? Is your clock source set to ADAT or Optical?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2012, 10:06 PM
Toadwick Toadwick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Princeville, HI
Posts: 36
Default Re: Bounce to Disc malfunctioning - HELP!!!

The Digimax is connected but not on. (It is connected into the Fire Wire Port).
The Optical input was set to external but is set back to internal. I tried bouncing w/ the Digimax on & connected but it made no difference. I have done other projects with the Digimax before and haven't had this problem.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2012, 12:14 AM
Toadwick Toadwick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Princeville, HI
Posts: 36
Default Re: Bounce to Disc malfunctioning - HELP!!!

I will do that as I get down the road but when I am first recording & building tracks it seems easier to Bounce them for the client to listen to. I understand the lower sound quality of bouncing - but at this stage I use it for reference. Any suggestions on my BTD problem though?

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:05 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,024
Default Re: Bounce to Disc malfunctioning - HELP!!!

Hi,

Sounds like a potential clock issue. Make sure the clock is set to internal. The external hardware devices have no effect on the BTD unless they are providing clock. Try disconnecting the external devices and see if the session plays ok. Then BTD.

There is nothing inherently wrong with BTD btw. I've been using BTD for over 10 years and rarely have a problem.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.6, PT2021.10, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.15.6, PT2021.10, BabyFacePro FS
Retina MacBook Pro OS 11.6.1, PT2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2012, 06:57 AM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Bounce to Disc malfunctioning - HELP!!!

Are you converting after the bounce, could be processor loading.
Also is LLM Off?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:07 AM
Toadwick Toadwick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Princeville, HI
Posts: 36
Default Re: Bounce to Disc malfunctioning - HELP!!!

What is LLM?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:08 AM
Toadwick Toadwick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Princeville, HI
Posts: 36
Default Re: Bounce to Disc malfunctioning - HELP!!!

Ooops! Low Latency Monitoring! Should it be off?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2012, 12:34 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,234
Default Re: Bounce to Disc malfunctioning - HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toadwick View Post
Ooops! Low Latency Monitoring! Should it be off?
I usually turn Low Latency Monitoring on for tracking and off for everything else.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.6 running Protools 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-06-2012, 03:08 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,274
Default Re: Bounce to Disc malfunctioning - HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toadwick View Post
Ooops! Low Latency Monitoring! Should it be off?
Try it, and also try to always run the same configuration(IOW, leave the ON and connected and always set clock source to ADAT. Reason being that its possible to have a session set for one sample rate(either 44.1 or 48K and have the Digimax set to the other sample rate, and the session will follow the Digimax, even if its set to a different rate than the session(changing sample rates on audio that is already recorded will make it play at the wrong speed and pitch).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't Bounce to Disc kay74 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 10-13-2005 10:34 PM
can't bounce to disc sssoundsss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-06-2004 07:37 AM
Bounce to disc? Appreciate any and all help. Elvisaintme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-05-2003 06:58 AM
bounce to disc MP3 fredsparky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 06-25-2003 10:32 PM
PT 5 bounce to disc delphypop Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 03-21-2000 10:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com