Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-02-2023, 02:10 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,775
Default Re: Beta update?

Using beta is not mandatory. It is optional for someone like me who likes to test it before prime time.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-02-2023, 08:21 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,251
Default Re: Beta update?

Yes this was a marketing decision. Donít expect it to become a norm.

I do believe they need to expand their actual beta testers however. Every release in the last few years has been problematic in some way that should have been uncovered with proper testing.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-02-2023, 08:42 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,775
Default Re: Beta update?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
I do believe they need to expand their actual beta testers however.
Maybe yes or no. Every new tester is a possible leaker, and not all beta testers give useful information back. I should know, was beta testing PT 7-10.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-02-2023, 09:06 AM
moogboy100 moogboy100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 180
Default Re: Beta update?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
There must be new betas made available as substantial bugs are ironed out, so that testing can move forward. For Avid not to do that would be odd.
What are the substantial bugs (as they pertain to the beta AS version and not PR as a whole)?

It's not an actual Beta program we are in with this version. Instead AVID just want us to know the version we got is still in Beta, which explains its incomplete feature set compared to Rosetta mode. Like others have said, we'll get a full version only in a couple months most likely.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2023.3 | Mac Studio M1 Max (64 GB) | Monterey 12.6.3 | Focusrite Red 4Pre
Pro Tools Ultimate 2023.3 | MacBook Pro (2018) i5 | Monterey 12.6.3
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-02-2023, 10:03 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,100
Default Re: Beta update?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
From the original announcement:

"What doesnít work in the public beta version?

AIR plugins and instruments currently bundled with Pro Tools
Not all third-party plugins are supported yetósee here for the supported list
Cloud Collaboration and Projects
ICON, C24, and Command 8 control surfaces will not be supported
X-Form Audio Suite and algorithm in Elastic Audio
ReWire support
MP3 Export (Bounce and Export Clips as Files)
AAC Import
Score Editor
Chord Extraction
Full qualification on all systems/configurations"
I missed that. Quite a list, but none should be terribly difficult to update. 3rd party plugins aren't Avid's responsibility, of course.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-02-2023, 11:20 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,251
Default Re: Beta update?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Maybe yes or no. Every new tester is a possible leaker, and not all beta testers give useful information back. I should know, was beta testing PT 7-10.
Yes Iím familiar, Iíve been a tester in the past although not for Avid.

Stupid things like mp3 import breaking every other version. MIDI editing, other numerous issues that are uncovered the first day of release. We donít have privilege of knowing if these are acknowledged bugs ahead of the release. Maybe some are and they decide not to delay release, who knows.

Iím not a big fan of the current dot release schedule. It hasnít sped up development as promised and itís been much more unstable than the past. Commercial users are already hesitant to update until itís proven stable and these releases have exacerbated that.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-02-2023, 11:58 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,775
Default Re: Beta update?

I would be fine with quarterly releases (.03/.06/.09/.12) but there is always something...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-02-2023, 02:41 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,100
Default Re: Beta update?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
Yes Iím familiar, Iíve been a tester in the past although not for Avid.

Stupid things like mp3 import breaking every other version. MIDI editing, other numerous issues that are uncovered the first day of release. We donít have privilege of knowing if these are acknowledged bugs ahead of the release. Maybe some are and they decide not to delay release, who knows.

Iím not a big fan of the current dot release schedule. It hasnít sped up development as promised and itís been much more unstable than the past. Commercial users are already hesitant to update until itís proven stable and these releases have exacerbated that.
2022.10 and .12 have been two of the more stable versions of PT that I've used and I've been onboard since V3. The various people in my company are reporting the same. This is not to say that it's perfect (it is certainly not that) but relative to other releases it's not crashing and allowing us to get work done.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-02-2023, 03:34 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 1,055
Default Re: Beta update?

I have to concur. This version has been very stable.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacStudio Ultra / LogicProX / IzotopeRX10+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-02-2023, 11:10 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 570
Default Re: Beta update?

I will be happily waiting , using my 12 year old imac to earn a living before sticking my neck out and buying a COMPLETELY finished and solid version that works on a M2 mini running a normal silicon version.........i got forever....the ONLY reason im upgrading is for the Soundminer /sampler record update, otherwise id gladly stay on my crash free rock solid machine....
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New ShutterEncoder Update 15.1 Silicon Mac Beta gives Pro Tools 0 05-06-2021 08:19 AM
Has anybody tried the battery 3.05 beta update yet? chazc080488 Virtual Instruments 0 07-09-2009 12:52 PM
Elastic audio beta update flautista 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-13-2007 04:47 AM
Mbox 2 Beta Firmware & Driver Update Kit v1.38 pstuart 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-10-2005 02:05 PM
CD Architech Beta Update out. Calvin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-23-2002 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com