Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-21-2023, 09:01 AM
briaboy briaboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 454
Default Re: How to best read RAM being used?

Quick related question. I',m currently using 32GB (4x8GB). If I want to increase the memory, can I mix the GB amounts in the slots? e.g. keep 2x8GB and replace the other 2x8GB with 2x32GB?

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2023-01-21 at 11.49.36.jpg (27.3 KB, 0 views)
__________________
iMac (2020: 3.8 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i7, 32GB), OSX 13.1 (Ventura), Pro Tools 2024, UAD Apollo 8, UAD-2 Quad Satellite DSP Accelerator, 2 x Lacie Thunderbolt SSD (250GB), Seagate Backup Plus Drive (4TB).
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-21-2023, 09:09 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,898
Default Re: How to best read RAM being used?

If other specs match, then yes. Problem is you need to be on the nerd side to make sure, so most are suggesting all of the sticks come from same batch.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-21-2023, 11:33 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,636
Default Re: How to best read RAM being used?

Quote:
Originally Posted by briaboy View Post
Quick related question. I',m currently using 32GB (4x8GB). If I want to increase the memory, can I mix the GB amounts in the slots? e.g. keep 2x8GB and replace the other 2x8GB with 2x32GB?

Thanks!
In future please don't spam unrelated questions onto other users threads.

You are better off with all DIMMs being the exact same size, manufacturer and exact part number. That dynamic memory works at all is a small miracle (look up "memory training" as an example). And DIMMs are not so expensive, so just do it right and make the most of the remaining life of this Intel Mac.

If the DIMMs are not all equal size then you want each memory channel to match the other in DIMM capacity/order. And all DIMMs meet the timing specs,but even better all be different capacity versions of the same DIMM part, or you know just buy four new identical DIMMs.

All this and more is clearly spelt out in Apple's very clear documentation about doing memory upgrades.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-21-2023, 12:29 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,636
Default Re: How to best read RAM being used?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
If other specs match, then yes. Problem is you need to be on the nerd side to make sure, so most are suggesting all of the sticks come from same batch.
It's worse than just getting the right timing specs. Even if you get DIMMs from a reputable supplier and manufacturer and they claim some timing specs they still may not work, or may not work in a system with other DIMMs that also meet the same claimed timing specs. This is why motherboard OEMs spend so much time and effort qualifying DIMMs by exact model/part numbers not just by timing specs (and if you are in PC land, use those vendor qualified parts). In Mac land at least just go for all the same DIMMs, from vendors who sell to the Mac market == more chance if issues happen they will have seen them.

You often have no guarantee of if DIMMs or their components come from the same manufacturing "batch" (or what exactly that even means, DIMM manufacturing batch, DRAM chip batch, DIMM firmware version etc.) but you can look for exact part numbers and that tends to help make sure they are as identical as possible. Sometimes manufactures will have part numbers and revision numbers/codes. Even better to have all that match.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-21-2023, 05:47 PM
briaboy briaboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 454
Default Re: How to best read RAM being used?

As super-helpful - and as patronizing - as ever Darryl Ramm. Thank you.
__________________
iMac (2020: 3.8 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i7, 32GB), OSX 13.1 (Ventura), Pro Tools 2024, UAD Apollo 8, UAD-2 Quad Satellite DSP Accelerator, 2 x Lacie Thunderbolt SSD (250GB), Seagate Backup Plus Drive (4TB).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extra Internal Drives - Read Only/Read/Write Siegfried Meier Pro Tools 2018 4 05-12-2018 02:29 PM
Wanna help me? read question 1, Wanna good laugh? read question 2 8mmOverdose 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-15-2003 12:29 AM
Please Read... tonyharp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-13-2002 11:16 AM
I read about it but no fix yet lcouri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-02-2002 07:18 AM
please read! stickstome2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-20-2001 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com