Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2006, 10:41 AM
theguru theguru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 5
Default recorded tracks delayed by about 3k samples?!?

I've got PT LE 7.0 on WinXP SP2 with 002R. Everything is really solid, except that all recorded tracks are delayed by a whopping 3000 samples. This means that every track I record, I have to manually shift. It's really pissing me off.

I did this test: create test session with only a single drum track and no plug-ins. play that back, and put a mic right next to the speaker (like 2" away). Record the audio out, then compare in the track window. Voila! The new track is approx. 3K samples late.This is not subtle.

I've looked all over for some kind of record latency compensation dialog, and have not seen any.

Anyone have any ideas? I'm ready to delete PT and get Cakewalk.

-George
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2006, 10:46 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: recorded tracks delayed by about 3k samples?!?

To what value do you have your hardware buffer set?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2006, 12:30 PM
theguru theguru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 5
Default Re: recorded tracks delayed by about 3k samples?!?

>To what value do you have your hardware buffer set?

1024. But, IMO, that would be amazingly lame if the hardware buffer size was the cause. Digital Performer would take a 2MB hardware buffer and introudce no delay in recorded tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2006, 12:31 PM
the_dr38 the_dr38 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 487
Default Re: recorded tracks delayed by about 3k samples?!?

I know you shouldnt have the problem in the first place but have you tried using the time adjuster plugin - long to help you for now?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2006, 01:02 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: recorded tracks delayed by about 3k samples?!?

Quote:
1024. But, IMO, that would be amazingly lame if the hardware buffer size was the cause.
Then you obviously don't understand the definition of "buffer".

The recommendation is usually to set the hardware buffer as low as it can go for tracking, and as high as it can go for mixing.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2006, 02:42 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,582
Default Re: recorded tracks delayed by about 3k samples?!?

...and even better(for me anyways) is to record using low latency monitoring.

Options > Low Latency Monitoring. Shortcut to toggle this is in PT 7 is alt > o > w.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2006, 01:27 PM
theguru theguru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 5
Default Re: recorded tracks delayed by about 3k samples?!?

Quote:
...and even better(for me anyways) is to record using low latency monitoring.

Options > Low Latency Monitoring. Shortcut to toggle this is in PT 7 is alt > o > w.

Shane
This is not the issue at all. I use low-latency monitoring, to the extent that I monitor through the 002. Normally, I split the signal and monitor in the analog domain.

The simple fact is, with my rig, it is not possible right now to record a new track to an existing performance and have it go to disk with the same timing relationship as performed. I must *always* eyeball a track slide. This has nothng to do with low-latency monitoring, and everyhting to do with PT's record latency compensation.

Apparently, not everyone has the same problem. If they did, the community would be up in arms about it, because right now this tool is very nearly worthless to me, and I'm regretting purchsing it. It was barely passable until I started to actually have to do musical overdubs. Can you imagine having to say to someone, after every take, "yeah I know it's not perfectly in time with what you perfromed, but it's pretty much there"? Not to mention the time spent trmming, sliding, auditioning, then un-doing the trimming and sliding after EVERY take.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools's recorded audio is delayed. Wave file written late on the grid. Unreliable SHRED Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 09-24-2013 03:15 PM
Recording delayed several hundred samples Daviskenn macOS 5 01-29-2013 08:17 PM
Newly recorded tracks delayed behind the beat Fritz12534 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-06-2008 11:51 AM
re-recorded tracks early by 34 samples ? john1192 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 08-09-2007 10:34 AM
Using recorded kick to trigger samples....help! gregory dean 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-04-2004 04:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com