Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2002, 01:22 PM
badperson badperson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,025
Default This probably is a stupid question, but

here goes...


I remember around 15 years ago (pre-digital, a good 4-track was $1000 for those of you who were alive) my guitar teacher telling me that some people recorded onto a VCR. My VCR has great sound through my stereo. I'm wondering if I bought a little Mackie mixer, would that be a good way to get a couple of tracks of analog?

Anyone ever tried it?

thanks!

jason
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2002, 01:26 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: This probably is a stupid question, but

hey badperson,

a question is never stupid, just a bit awkward maybe..... [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

you are here on the forum of people who uses harddisk-recorders on their pc. In my opinion you are here on the wrong place. There are some things in favour of the vcr and a lot of things against it....if you have specific issues.....please ask them, but dont be vague...noone will answer that

Bastiaan
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2002, 01:33 PM
badperson badperson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,025
Default Re: This probably is a stupid question, but

sorry, my bad, here's a clarification.


I have a digi 001 on a Dell system I got not too long ago. I was wondering if it would be possible/practical, etc. to record on the vcr, then dump it onto the computer, in order to get a warmer analog sound. I'm wondering how much would be lost in the transfer, since I'd have to get adapters from RCA to 1/4".

Just to expand the question, do any of you record onto analog first, then dump onto digital?

If so, what do you use?

thanks!

jason
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2002, 03:24 PM
ReniuR ReniuR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 762
Default Re: This probably is a stupid question, but

Personally, I'd stay away from that simply because using adapters ALWAYS adds some noise. You can try it out and see how you like the effect it gives.
__________________
-ReniuR

www.disposableproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2002, 03:29 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: This probably is a stupid question, but

I think that is basically a good idea but watch out for:

Built-in compressor. All consumer decks have a compressor on the input. You may or may not like the sound.

Dolby noise reduction is on the decks.

The linear tape speed is very slow and has poor frequency response and high noise, but you may like that for certain effects (use the fastest tape speed).

The Hi-Fi tracks are recorded by frequency modulation under the video tracks by video type heads. The frequency response and noise is much better but it doesn't sound like an analog track due to the modulation scheme.

Experiment!
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2002, 04:02 PM
Mr_Seven Mr_Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: This probably is a stupid question, but

I had one of those 4 tracks (parents bought it for me when I was 15) I believe it was about $1500. 6channel mixer and tape transport and weighed about 50lbs. Anyway, I used to record my stuff to HI-Fi VHS Video tape. It's a good medium for 2 track because it is digital. I still have tracks on tape from then and have since transfered them to CD.
__________________
Darren Valen
Cyberdream Studios
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2002, 04:18 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: This probably is a stupid question, but

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by badperson:
I'm wondering how much would be lost in the transfer, since I'd have to get adapters from RCA to 1/4".
Jason
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


The transfer from RCA to 1/4" is hard-wired! There is a difference in volume, but i think you can get it right with the software-settings inside ptle. And if you want the warm analogue sound....record what you want to record (a guitar for example) with one or two mikes near the cabinet instead of plugging it right into the digi001 ( it is not a guitar amp you know.....)

Bastiaan
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2002, 07:27 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: This probably is a stupid question, but

Nothing is lost when using a well-made adapter.

The Hi-Fi tracks on a VHS are NOT digital.

Home VHS inputs/outputs are -10.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2002, 09:11 PM
Mr_Seven Mr_Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: This probably is a stupid question, but

Park, you're right.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR> The Hi-Fi tracks on a VHS are NOT digital. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I got carried away there.

Found this interesting tid bit on mixing to hi-fi VHS.
http://homerecording.com/vhstests.html
__________________
Darren Valen
Cyberdream Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid stupid question but I need to know chicken macOS 2 05-28-2011 08:48 AM
General Midi Question and another stupid question... imcivor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-04-2007 02:39 PM
Very Stupid question!! adlib311 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-31-2007 10:45 AM
very stupid a/d question sipi1910 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-01-2002 12:37 AM
this may be a really stupid question but..... jason66213 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-14-2001 10:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com