Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2021, 07:24 PM
kw88keys kw88keys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 95
Default AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

Curious if anyone is using this processor on their PC? Or any comments or insights as to recommended alternatives.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2021, 08:55 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,927
Default Re: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

Quote:
Originally Posted by kw88keys View Post
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

Curious if anyone is using this processor on their PC? Or any comments or insights as to recommended alternatives.
Thanks
Great question. I'm planning to do a MB/CPU/ram upgrade fairly soon, and am considering an Intel i9-10900k/Z490 or i9-11900k/Z590. I'm also curious about that AMD chip. Anybody?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2021, 12:42 PM
regan10 regan10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 1
Default Re: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

Quote:
Originally Posted by kw88keys View Post
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

Curious if anyone is using this processor on their PC? Or any comments or insights as to recommended alternatives.
Thanks
I use it, I'm getting CPU overload problems due to high sample rates (anything above 1024 samples) but it works perfectly fine with other DAWs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2021, 04:45 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,927
Default Re: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

Quote:
Originally Posted by regan10 View Post
I use it, I'm getting CPU overload problems due to high sample rates (anything above 1024 samples) but it works perfectly fine with other DAWs.
Please clarify. High sample rates or high buffer?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-13-2021, 01:53 PM
blizzard's Avatar
blizzard blizzard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 395
Default Re: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

I did a bit of looking into the 11900k and was shown this review, which is not favourable (an understatement). I am reconsidering using it in my upcoming build.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxiuvQPL_qs

I am now looking at a possible Ryzen build using the 5900x. Did you end up going for the 5900x?
__________________
DAW - Asus P9X79 / 32GB / i7-4820K / WIN10 PRO / VEPRO 6
PT 12.5 / RME UFX+
Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 12.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-13-2021, 11:35 PM
kw88keys kw88keys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 95
Default Re: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

Quote:
Originally Posted by blizzard View Post
I did a bit of looking into the 11900k and was shown this review, which is not favourable (an understatement). I am reconsidering using it in my upcoming build.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxiuvQPL_qs

I am now looking at a possible Ryzen build using the 5900x. Did you end up going for the 5900x?
No, still in the planning phase for the next computer. I'm still using this: AMD|PH II X6 1090T 3.2G AM3 RT from 2010. I have not had any problems with this processor - but with more VIs needing more processing power, I am curious to see how the current processors on the market would be a benefit.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2021, 01:03 PM
polyh3dron polyh3dron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 91
Default Re: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

Quote:
Originally Posted by regan10 View Post
I use it, I'm getting CPU overload problems due to high sample rates (anything above 1024 samples) but it works perfectly fine with other DAWs.
1024 samples isn't a sample rate. I take it you're referring to your playback engine buffer, and a higher buffer should result in more reliable playback.

My main Pro Tools system has a Ryzen 5950X CPU in it. I run Process Lasso and make sure to disable SMT aka hyperthreading in Pro Tools using that app, and my performance is solid. Did a feature documentary mix and some reality show mixes on it with very high track and voice counts, with dense automation all over the place. Unfortunately for any bigger post projects of a collaborative nature, the lack of Spanner really stops Windows from being viable still. Hoping Cargo Cult and/or Avid do something about this soon.

At this point with the recent versions of Pro Tools I'm almost thinking the SMT disabling thing may even be a legacy/superstition kind of thing that I may be able to get away with re-enabling, but haven't tried that under any serious kind of workload yet.

One thing that is vital in Windows 10 is to get your system's DPC latency under control. The free Resplendence LatencyMon Home Edition will help with this.

Last edited by polyh3dron; 05-20-2021 at 03:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-22-2021, 05:28 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Default Re: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

I have a 5950x rig. ProArt Creator b550, with HDSPe MADI in a TB/PCIe chassis (node 2 duo)- also used with Quantum.

These processors are incredible for audio, particularly for low latency audio (provided the rest of the system works properly). I can have a huge session, with a ton of VI's and track a full 16 mics on a drum set, with lots of inserts and heavy send FX like abbey road plates etc AND arm Diva and record along with the drums at the 32 sample buffer. In fact, I have never changed the buffer setting from 32.

I did have a chance to compare to M1 MBP (same interface), which is also better than intel in low latency performance, and for single core low latency (using reaper for both, only one channel loaded, FF Pro-R AS Native), the 5950x is capable of roughly double the instances as the M1. M1 capable of roughly 50% more than 7980xe- all at the 32 sample buffer. The differences between all 3 get smaller as the buffer sizes go up, but the 5950x leads all the way.

For me this is the native HDX killer. I'm finally back to that TDM workflow (arm any track at any time without thinking about latency), but without being tied to AAX-DSP plugins only (or PT only) and having that horsepower for VI's as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-26-2021, 08:12 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,937
Default Re: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanC View Post
I have a 5950x rig. ProArt Creator b550, with HDSPe MADI in a TB/PCIe chassis (node 2 duo)- also used with Quantum.

These processors are incredible for audio, particularly for low latency audio (provided the rest of the system works properly). I can have a huge session, with a ton of VI's and track a full 16 mics on a drum set, with lots of inserts and heavy send FX like abbey road plates etc AND arm Diva and record along with the drums at the 32 sample buffer. In fact, I have never changed the buffer setting from 32.

I did have a chance to compare to M1 MBP (same interface), which is also better than intel in low latency performance, and for single core low latency (using reaper for both, only one channel loaded, FF Pro-R AS Native), the 5950x is capable of roughly double the instances as the M1. M1 capable of roughly 50% more than 7980xe- all at the 32 sample buffer. The differences between all 3 get smaller as the buffer sizes go up, but the 5950x leads all the way.

For me this is the native HDX killer. I'm finally back to that TDM workflow (arm any track at any time without thinking about latency), but without being tied to AAX-DSP plugins only (or PT only) and having that horsepower for VI's as well.
I have always read that AMD have a latency problem. I actually use a threadripper myself and can't do much under 256 samples at any workload.

Is it really true that the 5950x can run at 32 samples? Can anyone else confirm?
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2021, 02:34 PM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Default Re: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
I have always read that AMD have a latency problem. I actually use a threadripper myself and can't do much under 256 samples at any workload.

Is it really true that the 5950x can run at 32 samples? Can anyone else confirm?
TR has the NUMA problem I believe.

I'll make a video here when I get a chance- I can make 32 mono tracks, each with Pro-Q3, Pro-C2, Softube Console1 and Arturia STA as well as 10 tracks of diva at the default preset, all with two sends to abbey road plates and arturia plate, arm all 42 tracks and record on all of them (playing on the keyboard to max out all 60 Diva voices) at the 32 sample buffer.

I have never had the need to raise the buffer above 32...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Ryzen 9 vs Intel i9 New_Selas Windows 7 12-09-2020 10:36 PM
AMD Ryzen 3rd Gen and PT 12 Lagelos Windows 2 04-01-2020 01:45 AM
Ryzen 32 core tabonik Pro Tools 12 8 02-07-2019 05:40 AM
AMD Ryzen processors gcasper Windows 14 05-08-2017 01:39 AM
Pro Tools 11 and AMD Ryzen CPU's griff71177 Pro Tools 11 51 05-08-2017 01:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com