Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2021, 07:00 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,062
Default d-control with 2020.12 working?

anyone try 2020.12 with d-control yet?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2021, 05:33 AM
lydpik lydpik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Unknown
Posts: 82
Default Re: d-control with 2020.12 working?

Same question...

Also, they are getting pretty affordable now. But do you think is it insane, to invest in one of them these days? How risky is it, will AVID just kill them without warning, like they did with the older ones? I really, really like the layout - especially the channelstrip! :)
__________________
Sorry for any bad grammar/spelling, I'm not from around here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2021, 06:16 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,262
Default Re: d-control with 2020.12 working?

Driver support is about OS compatibility, not PT software.

As you can see 2020.12 works with Catalina, Mojave or High Sierra. If some hardware was working in High Sierra on older PT software, it should also work with 2020.12 -- but the great move on Catalina was 64-bit only, so in case drivers are 32bit that hardware is dead in the water.

Sadly, I have no precise info. Just a principle.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2021, 01:19 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,428
Default Re: d-control with 2020.12 working?

Yes it works great on D-Control 32ES and D-Command too.

I would however think twice as they are prrrrretty old now. Old tech and soon unsupported which means no more driver and firmware updates ever. Could be a month could be a year but I know many large facilities who run big ICONS so I think Avid will have a harder time killing them off.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2021, 08:08 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,062
Default Re: d-control with 2020.12 working?

Thanks guys!

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2021, 06:45 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,062
Default Re: d-control with 2020.12 working?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lydpik View Post
Same question...



Also, they are getting pretty affordable now. But do you think is it insane, to invest in one of them these days? How risky is it, will AVID just kill them without warning, like they did with the older ones? I really, really like the layout - especially the channelstrip! :)
I would get one now. I'm still on a 32 frame blue. I love the function and have yet to move to s6m40. Going to ride it till it dies. I predict at least 4 or 5 more years. Imo.

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2021, 04:07 PM
lydpik lydpik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Unknown
Posts: 82
Default Re: d-control with 2020.12 working?

Thanks a lot for your thoughts and opinions, it means a lot. I have a D-command ES 24 channel in my local area that looks like a it's in a good shape.

What do you guys think? I mean it's old and as you said no one really knows for how long?

It's quite an investment for me right now, do to the pandemic. But it's such a great controller still and I definitely prefer them over the newer ones.

I probably should save up and getting an S3, but I'm worried that I can't live without a proper channelstrip and plugin mapping.

How about the price $3000 is that fair and is there any potential problems that I should be aware of?

Any advice you can give me would be much appreciated!

I don't have HDX cards anymore, so intend to use it with the regular Pro Tools subscription and a 2012 Mac Mini with SSD, 16GB RAM.

Thank you. :)
__________________
Sorry for any bad grammar/spelling, I'm not from around here.

Last edited by lydpik; 03-03-2021 at 04:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2021, 04:53 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 178
Default Re: d-control with 2020.12 working?

please note that you will need ProTools Ultimate for ICON support
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2021, 04:54 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,262
Default Re: d-control with 2020.12 working?

Quote:
Originally Posted by martthie_08 View Post
please note that you will need ProTools Ultimate for ICON support
Ultimate is new name for HD, but yes you need HD license for HD hardware
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2021, 02:35 PM
lydpik lydpik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Unknown
Posts: 82
Default Re: d-control with 2020.12 working?

Oh, I just realized that... That's another $3000 up front, basically just to get the driver, to run the controller? Hmm, I should have known, it's AVID alright.

Any other issues I should be aware of?
__________________
Sorry for any bad grammar/spelling, I'm not from around here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2020.9.1 and Faderport 16 not working easyrider Pro Tools 2020 5 10-28-2020 03:53 PM
SOT - MIDI IO not working well with 2020 noah330 Pro Tools 2020 1 06-24-2020 04:48 PM
Avid Control App Rollback (2020.5 to 2020.3) budster Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 2 06-09-2020 11:01 AM
AJA T-Tap not working in 2020.3 bassmagnetic Post - Surround - Video 1 04-01-2020 03:19 AM
Pre-roll not working with PT 2020 fishing4444 Pro Tools 2020 1 03-31-2020 06:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com