Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2011, 07:01 PM
DontLetMeDrown DontLetMeDrown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 273
Question Missing green I button?

Why can't we arm "Input Only Monitoring" right on the individual channel strips like in PTHD?

Just curious.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2011, 07:36 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,344
Default Re: Missing green I button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DontLetMeDrown View Post
Why can't we arm "Input Only Monitoring" right on the individual channel strips like in PTHD?

Just curious.
Who knows? But you don't even get that with the CPTK2.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2011, 07:55 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Missing green I button?

...so...badly...want to...parse..dedicated...DSP....must resist urge to....poo poo...native....
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2011, 10:56 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,254
Default Re: Missing green I button?

Input monitoring is a HD only feature. Use HD and you get it. If I remember correctly, it has (at least originally) been a hardware dependent feature so that's not just a marketing decision. And yes, it's a great little feature...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2011, 03:57 AM
matthias.matthias matthias.matthias is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 65
Default Re: Missing green I button?

If you told me HEAT was hardware dependent I would have believed you

But this little button? Every other native DAW (I know it's a tried phrase) has this feature. In a typical Pro Tools workflow (e.g. record to tracks instead off bounce) it's even more important because it helps compensate for the lack of offline bounce. Current problems with Input monitoring (latency etc.) could also be cured with this function.

The lack of it makes Pro Tools look really unprofessional. I hope Avid is aware of that. BTW I got the CPTK2. Take a look at my signature and please vote. Thanks.
__________________
FR: MIDI Playlist View
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2011, 04:32 AM
manichouse manichouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 352
Default Re: Missing green I button?

I can understand the input monitoring function being dependent on hardware for actual live inputs. But I can't understand why it is not available for internal routing... like printing stems, etc. Hopefully in the future...
__________________
Martin Trum
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2011, 05:43 AM
matthias.matthias matthias.matthias is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 65
Default Re: Missing green I button?

Sure, anything like zero latency monitoring would be hardware dependent, but as far as I know ASIO Direct Monitoring is something Avid could (and should) implement as well. In the meantime wouldn't that button help switching monitoring off/on independently from the record ready?
__________________
FR: MIDI Playlist View
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2011, 05:43 AM
matthias.matthias matthias.matthias is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 65
Default Re: Missing green I button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by manichouse View Post
But I can't understand why it is not available for internal routing... like printing stems, etc. Hopefully in the future...
That's what I need it the most for
__________________
FR: MIDI Playlist View
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-28-2011, 06:36 AM
SOUNDDECISION SOUNDDECISION is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 299
Default Re: Missing green I button?

So to clarify....

If you run Native HD with the Native card do you get the input button?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-28-2011, 08:24 AM
fakir_cz fakir_cz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 226
Default Re: Missing green I button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOUNDDECISION View Post
If you run Native HD with the Native card do you get the input button?
Yes.
__________________
BcA. Tomas Vitha
Sound Designer and Mixer

2010 Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, OS X 10.6.6, PT HD 9.0.3, Mbox 2 Pro, C|24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin's Bypass Button Lime Green? logandrum Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-11-2010 09:10 PM
Mint Green Rec Button? shecky Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-27-2005 09:03 AM
green record button toy box 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-30-2004 06:31 PM
Green Rec Button????? Peterjk General Discussion 1 06-13-2002 02:20 AM
green record button hkpwnetd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-31-2001 12:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com