Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:09 PM
MasterKebiotic MasterKebiotic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Default Trouble opening Pro Tools

Hi
I am trying to open Pro Tools on my Mac Book, I installed it, version 7.4 and when i try to open it, it always crashes in the same place
'Loading - Plug ins - Digi Rewire.dpm'

Just before this happens it asks me to Authorize the 'bomb factory' plug in and 'Broadband Noise reduction' plug in, I quit both of these and then it crashes.

The same thing happens with the 7.1 version that I have tried.
I tried uninstalling and reinstalling it.

The mac book is brand new.

I would appreciate any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:16 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Trouble opening Pro Tools

If your Macbook is brand new, it is most likely running some version of Leopard (Mac OS 10.5.x). Neither Pro Tools 7.1 or 7.4 will work on that system, you need to uninstall all previous versions of Pro Tools, then make sure you're running at least 10.5.4 or 10.5.5 OS. After that is up to date, then download and install the PTLE 7.4.2 version that is compatible with Leopard, there are links to the 7.4.2 download in some of the threads near the top of the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:28 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,798
Default Re: Trouble opening Pro Tools

After updating to 7.4.2, make sure all your plug-ins are updated as well, especially Melodyne, if you have it installed.

Pro Tools Leopard Plug-in Updates
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:39 PM
MasterKebiotic MasterKebiotic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Trouble opening Pro Tools

I'm running Mac OS 10.5.5

Can I just update to 7.4.2 for free and also with the pro tools uninstalled?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:42 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Trouble opening Pro Tools

If you have a 7.4 registration code (which I'm assuming you do since you've installed it already) then you can update to 7.4.2 for free.

7.4.2 info is in this thread
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2008, 05:59 PM
MasterKebiotic MasterKebiotic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Trouble opening Pro Tools

I just downloaded it and it's still getting stuck on the same place. Is there anyway I can just bypass the plugins?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2008, 06:09 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Trouble opening Pro Tools

Yes, during the install you can deselect the "Digirack Plug-ins" option, and then do a subsequent install selecting only that plug-in option. It has helped other with a different problem, but maybe it would help you too.

Did you do a clean uninstall of all Pro Tools software before installing 7.4.2?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2008, 02:09 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,109
Default Re: Trouble opening Pro Tools

Or, it maybe Rewire capable plug-ins that need updating. This thread may help.

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...ght=Digirewire

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2008, 12:52 PM
MasterKebiotic MasterKebiotic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Thumbs up Re: Trouble opening Pro Tools

Hey, Thanks everybody for your help especially Phil. Legend!!
'I followed the

If Pro Tools freezes on Digirewire.dpm when starting the program, this is usually due to an incompatible version of Melodyne Essential being installed on the system. The version of Melodyne Essential on the Ignition Pack 2 discs is 1.5.1, which is incompatible with Mac OS 10.5.x Leopard. Either update Melodyne to v1.8.1.3 or follow the steps below

1) Quit all running programs

2) Open the computer's startup drive (commonly named "MacHD") and navigate to the "Library" folder, then to the "Application Support" folder, then the "Propellerhead Software" folder, and finally the "ReWire" folder

3) In the "ReWire" folder, two files need to be moved to the trash. These are "MelodyneEssentialRewireDevice" and "MelodyneEssentialRewireDevice.plugin"

4) Pro Tools should now launch properly
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2008, 01:36 PM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,109
Default Re: Trouble opening Pro Tools

No worries. Cool music guys.

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have trouble opening pro tools, is there someone who can help? artemis0287 macOS 4 03-03-2014 11:16 AM
Having trouble opening Pro tools LE 8 version 8.0 diamonds 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-07-2009 12:46 PM
Trouble Opening Plug-in in Pro Tools/Sample Moog bms9nmh Virtual Instruments 2 08-30-2009 02:33 AM
I'm having trouble opening an OMF grantarctica Post - Surround - Video 8 02-07-2005 12:32 PM
OMF Trouble Opening Sessions ItsDragon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-25-2004 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com